PDA

View Full Version : Redefining DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT and %_SB_INSTALLDIR%



NewsArchive
02-23-2006, 10:10 AM
I would like to redefine the content of DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT and
%_SB_INSTALLDIR% based upon the selected feature. How do I do this?

Greg Fasolt
G. Fasolt and Associates

www: GFasolt.com S.M.

NewsArchive
02-23-2006, 10:10 AM
Greg,

DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT in the Text and Messages view and %_SB_INSTALLDIR%
in the Script Editor.

Does this help?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
02-23-2006, 10:10 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Thanks for the prompt reply.

I've managed to conditionally set %_SB_INSTALLDIR%. Really like the simplicity
of the script editor!

Unfortunately, I'm unable to figure out how to conditionally change
DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT in Text. Is there an example that would shed some light on
this?

One more question: The previous questions relate to support for CapeSoft's
FM3's AutoNET (automatic workstation upgrades from the server). Using
SetupBuilder, I would like to place copies of specific files in a specific
directory ([INSTALLDIR]\AutoNet) for this purpose. Would it be best to use
"Copy Local Files..." in the script for this, or is there a preferred technique
or example for this?

Greg

NewsArchive
02-23-2006, 10:10 AM
Hi Greg,

> Thanks for the prompt reply.
>
> I've managed to conditionally set %_SB_INSTALLDIR%. Really like the
> simplicity
> of the script editor!
>
> Unfortunately, I'm unable to figure out how to conditionally change
> DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT in Text. Is there an example that would shed some
> light on
> this?

What you can do is the following.

1. Open "Select Install Folder Dialog Properties"

2. "Text Info" field: replace the text resource with a variable, for
example: %DESTINATIONTEXT%

3. Use Set Variable (before the dialog displays) to set the value of
the above variable.

> One more question: The previous questions relate to support for CapeSoft's
> FM3's AutoNET (automatic workstation upgrades from the server). Using
> SetupBuilder, I would like to place copies of specific files in a specific
> directory ([INSTALLDIR]\AutoNet) for this purpose. Would it be best to use
> "Copy Local Files..." in the script for this, or is there a preferred
> technique
> or example for this?

You can use Copy Local File(s) to copy existing files on the target machine
or you can use the Zip function to compress the files (if it is a backup).

Does this help?


Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
02-24-2006, 03:33 AM
By the way, of course you can also create new "text resources" and then
set the value of a variable to the text resource.

For example:

If "%VAR% Equals "1" Then
Set Variable %TEST% to "#DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT_1#"
ElseIf "%VAR% Equals "1" Then
Set Variable %TEST% to "#DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT_2#"
ElseIf "%VAR% Equals "1" Then
Set Variable %TEST% to "#DLG_DESTINATION_TEXT_3#"
End

HTH,

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5