PDA

View Full Version : Single wupdate.exe, multiple targets



NewsArchive
05-06-2006, 07:15 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Scenario: I want to create a exe that get's installed with every one
of my products. This exe's main task will be to check for updates for
the various products. I.e. it needs to be able to check for updates
for Previewer, Icetips SQL, Icetips Xplore and various other products
and I need to be able to update the information about existing
products as customers install new products etc. I want this EXE in
just one place, i.e. it will be with each product that the customer
receives and will overwrite older versions. There would be only one
copy of wupdate.exe.

What would be the best way to tackle this?

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-06-2006, 07:16 AM
Hi Arnór,

Is this "exe" compiled with Clarion (or C++, etc.) or SB5?

Would you like to use the "standard" wupdate.exe or do you have a customized
wupdate.exe client? If your above "exe" handles the "check for updates"
task then wupdate.exe is not required. wupdate.exe only checks if an update
is available - if this is the case, it downloads and executes the web update
installer.

BTW, the same (standard) wupdate.exe client version can check for web
updates for different products if the client is located in different
folders. For example, the same wupdate.exe version checks for updates for
SetupBuilder 5 Professional and Developer Editions (full and demo).

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
05-08-2006, 02:24 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>Is this "exe" compiled with Clarion (or C++, etc.) or SB5?

It would be either Clarion or C++, right now I would use Clarion.

>Would you like to use the "standard" wupdate.exe or do you have a customized
>wupdate.exe client?

I don't have customized clients, just the regular wupdate.

>If your above "exe" handles the "check for updates"
>task then wupdate.exe is not required. wupdate.exe only checks if an update
>is available - if this is the case, it downloads and executes the web update
>installer.

This exe will handle updates to all my products but also needs to be
able to check for updates and update itself if needed.

>BTW, the same (standard) wupdate.exe client version can check for web
>updates for different products if the client is located in different
>folders. For example, the same wupdate.exe version checks for updates for
>SetupBuilder 5 Professional and Developer Editions (full and demo).

I think I would need the wupdate _only_ with this new exe. Lot of my
products are basically just templates and classes so there is no
installed exe. The difference now is that a _single_ exe will be
installed that can take care of updating _all_ the products. Also,
the products could be installed in multiple folders if the user
installs it for more than one Clarion version, i.e.:

C:\Clarion55\3rdParty\template
C:\Clarion6\3rdParty\template

etc.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-09-2006, 12:29 AM
Arnór,

I have to think about it - I'll get back to you.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
05-11-2006, 04:59 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>I have to think about it - I'll get back to you.

Last time I heard that was when we requested the Crystal Reports
thing. Hope this isn't going to be as devestatingly frustrating<bg>

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-11-2006, 04:59 AM
Hi Arnór,

>>I have to think about it - I'll get back to you.
>
> Last time I heard that was when we requested the Crystal Reports
> thing. Hope this isn't going to be as devestatingly frustrating<bg>

<G>

This Crystal Reports stuff is a *nightmare*. Our MSM to MSI runtime
compiler for SetupBuilder 5 works perfect. We can use standard merge
modules and generate MSI runtimes for SetupBuilder installations (I
think I will demonstrate this at the UK Clarion User Group meeting).

The problem is that it does not work with our reference test application.
This is not caused by our technology! It works fine if the full Crystal
Reports is installed, but does not work if the runtimes are installed
with a Crystal Reports merge module (compiled with the latest InstallShield,
or the latest Wise, or our new SetupBuilder 5 Merge Module converter).

Crystal Reports support has no idea what the problem is. This is killing
me and I'm tired.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
05-16-2006, 01:18 AM
Arnór,

One "regular" wupdate.exe can only update one product.

Because wupdate.exe is just a simple tool to check for updates and, if a
new version is available, download the update installer, you can modify
it to handle multiple-updates.

Product info initialization is done from line 28-45 in the standard wupdate
script.

Perhaps pass the product name or product GUID to the wupdate.exe client
via the command line, etc.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
05-16-2006, 01:18 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>Perhaps pass the product name or product GUID to the wupdate.exe client
>via the command line, etc.

Thanks a lot! I like that idea! I just don't want to be installing
lots of wupdates which will get into a tangle at some point. This way
I can customize it to suit my needs:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php