PDA

View Full Version : Conditionally support for administrator rights requirement



NewsArchive
05-16-2006, 01:20 AM
Is it possible to conditionally support the administrator rights requirement in
a script? I only require it if the user is installing a demo setup type which
includes MSDE.

Greg Fasolt
G. Fasolt and Associates

www: GFasolt.com S.M.

NewsArchive
05-16-2006, 01:21 AM
Greg,

Yes, you can use the %PRIVILEGES% variable. If it holds "Admin" then you
have administrator privileges.

You can do something like the following:

If %PRIVILEGES% Not Equals "Admin" Then
Display Message Box "Administrator privileges required"
Exit Installation
End

Does this help?

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
05-16-2006, 07:50 AM
Excellent! Thanks Friedrich.

Greg Fasolt
G. Fasolt and Associates

www: GFasolt.com S.M.