PDA

View Full Version : Where can I find an example of installing a Clarion Template?



NewsArchive
12-20-2008, 01:40 AM
I have the "detect Clarion" script but I can't figure out how to change the
destination accordingly.

Does anyone have a "blank" that complies with the install standards?

Thanks,
Paul

NewsArchive
12-20-2008, 01:41 AM
!
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
! Register all queued Clarion Template files
If %_SB_INSTALLERFLAG% Equals "1" on Position "$SB_CLARIONTEMPLATEFLAG$"
Then
Display Message Box "Register Clarion Templates?\n\nThis installer
will..." -- "Register Templates?"
If %_SB_RETURN% Equals "$IDYES$" Then
Set Variable %C6ACTIVE% to FUNCTION:Detect Active
Application(C60SRVX.EXE)
If %C6ACTIVE% Equals "1" Then
Display Message Box "Please make sure the Clarion IDE is not
active!\n" -- "Clarion Active"
End
Register all pending Clarion Templates
End
End


This works perfectly after the red file script I posted the other day
Do not forget in the dialog to declare the clarion versions supported in
"advanced" tab and the store clarion installation folder in %_SB_INSTALLDIR%
Do not forget to declare the tpl files as templates.....in each file
properties "advanced" also ....




--

Thank you - Merci

Cordialement - Best Regards
Jean-Pierre GUTSATZ

DMC - Data Management Center - A tool to let you Migrate Import Export
Transfer all your Data very easily
www.dmc-fr.com
Certified by Microsoft : "Works with Vista" & "Works with Windows Server
2008"

NewsArchive
12-20-2008, 01:47 AM
Jean-Pierre,

Thanks.

How do I store clarion installation folder in %_SB_INSTALLDIR% ?
Where do I get that info to assign to %_SB_INSTALLDIR% ?

Paul

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:54 AM
Paul,

Simply add a new Dialog "clarion" and set the return value as stated to
sbinstalldir....

--

Thank you - Merci

Cordialement - Best Regards
Jean-Pierre GUTSATZ

DMC - Data Management Center - A tool to let you Migrate Import Export
Transfer all your Data very easily
www.dmc-fr.com
Certified by Microsoft : "Works with Vista" & "Works with Windows Server
2008"

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:55 AM
Jean-Pierre,

I guess I still don't "get it"..... Probably because I haven't had to write
much script in SB....

You said "Simply add a new Dialog "clarion" and set the return value as
stated to sbinstalldir...."

But I want to automatically determine the version of Clarion and get the
destination folder.
You suggestion indicates that the users is supposed to select the
destination folder - so then what is the point of the Clarion Detect dialog?

Looking at the Define Wizard Dialog "CLARIONVERSION" (Clarion Environment
Detection) (#DLG_DETECTCLARION_SEARCH#)
it returns it's destination in (#DLG_DETECTCLARION_SEARCH#).
So I added: #set compiler variable [%_SB_INSTALLDIR%] =
"#DLG_DETECTCLARION_SEARCH#"
and removed the normal select install destination dialog.

But it doesn't work. Still wants to install to Program Files.....

Here is the script:



[ Initialize Setup ]
! --- Define commonly used constants ---
#include script "Common Definitions.sbi"

! Important: Initialize default install folder and program group variables
Set Variable %_SB_INSTALLDIR% to "[INSTALLDIR]"
Set Variable %_SB_PROGRAMGROUP% to "[PRODUCTNAME]"

! %_SB_BACKUPDIR% holds the path that all backup files will be copied to
when overwritten
Set Variable %_SB_BACKUPDIR% to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%\BACKUP"


[ Features ]
! If features are enabled, %_SB_FEATURESID% holds all selections separated
by a vertical bar "|"
! Warning: It is not recommended to manually modify the %_SB_FEATURESID%
variable!


[ Setup Types ]
! If setup types are enabled, %_SB_SETUPTYPEID% holds the selected type
! Warning: It is not recommended to manually modify the %_SB_SETUPTYPEID%
variable!

::Define Setup Type "Typical"
::Define Setup Type "Minimal"
::Define Setup Type "Custom"

[ User Interface ]
! Wizard dialog definition(s)
Define Wizard Dialog "#1" (Welcome)
Define Wizard Dialog "#2" (License Agreement)
Define Wizard Dialog "CLARIONVERSION" (Clarion Environment Detection)
(#DLG_DETECTCLARION_SEARCH#)
#set compiler variable [%_SB_INSTALLDIR%] = "#DLG_DETECTCLARION_SEARCH#"
Define Wizard Dialog "#4" (Ready to Install)

! The Wizard Loop displays the dialog screens that the user sees in the
installation
Loop Wizard (Abort Dialog Active)
End

! Display progress dialog
Display Setup Progress Dialog

! Create installation .log
Create Installation Log "[UNINSTALL_LOG]"

[ Create Folders ]
::Create Folder "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%\DOCS\ClarionQuickBooksConnect" (Always
Install)

[ Install Files ]
Install File "C:\CwProj6\cQBXml\Doc\ClarionQBConnect.chm" to
"%_SB_INSTALLDIR%\DOCS\ClarionQuickBooksConnect\Cla rionQBConnect.chm"
(Always Install)

[ Finalize Setup ]
! Register all queued pending file operations
Register all pending file operations

! Register all queued Clarion Template files
Register all pending Clarion Templates

[ Final User Interface ]
! Final wizard dialog definition(s)
Define Wizard Dialog "#1" (Finish)

! The Wizard Loop displays the dialog screens that the user sees in the
installation
Loop Wizard (Abort Dialog Active)
End

paul macfarlane

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:56 AM
Paul,

I posted on another thread a complete demo script .....

help yourself :)

--

Thank you - Merci

Cordialement - Best Regards
Jean-Pierre GUTSATZ

DMC - Data Management Center - A tool to let you Migrate Import Export
Transfer all your Data very easily
www.dmc-fr.com
Certified by Microsoft : "Works with Vista" & "Works with Windows Server
2008"

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:57 AM
Paul,

IMO, your only problem is that you have not set the "Store Clarion
Installation Folder" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"

Open the "Clarion Environment Detection" Properties dialog, select the 3rd
"Advanced" tab, set "Store Clarion Installation Folder" to
"%_SB_INSTALLDIR%" and you are done.

Does this help?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:57 AM
Friedrich - a spin off question from this ....

What if you have C6 and C7 on the same machine? How does it know which
folder to use?

TIA

John Fligg

NewsArchive
12-21-2008, 11:58 AM
Hi John,

> Friedrich - a spin off question from this ....
>
> What if you have C6 and C7 on the same machine? How does it know
> which folder to use?

The "Clarion Environment Detection" dialog allows you to detect specific
Clarion versions on your end-user's system and present a user selection
interface via radio buttons. For example, if your application supports C6
and C7 and both versions are detected on the target machine, there will be a
Clarion 6 and Clarion 7 radio button option. The installer will then detect
the installation folder (and template registration mechanism) based on the
selection.

Does this help?

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
12-22-2008, 01:16 AM
Yep - that does it.....

Thanks,
paul