PDA

View Full Version : Select file on Readme dialog



NewsArchive
12-23-2008, 01:57 AM
Hi Friedrich,

When I add a Readme dialog and go into the "Readme Text:" field, click "ID"
button, then click on "Edit" and finally "Browse..." it always opens on
"C:\program files\lindersoft\setupbuilder 6 developer\redist\1033" This
happens even if there is a valid filename in there. My guess is that the
fieldialog gets the "file://C:\products\whatever" contents from the "Value"
and can't figure out what to do with the file://

It's a bit annoying having to navigate every time I select a file. I'm
rebuilding 5 installs right now, 4 that have both old IDE and C7 versions,
so I'm in and out of this a lot<g>

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Creative, Inc.
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
12-23-2008, 01:58 AM
Arnór,

> When I add a Readme dialog and go into the "Readme Text:" field, click
> "ID" button, then click on "Edit" and finally "Browse..." it always opens
> on "C:\program files\lindersoft\setupbuilder 6 developer\redist\1033"
> This happens even if there is a valid filename in there. My guess is
> that the fieldialog gets the "file://C:\products\whatever" contents from
> the "Value" and can't figure out what to do with the file://
>
> It's a bit annoying having to navigate every time I select a file. I'm
> rebuilding 5 installs right now, 4 that have both old IDE and C7 versions,
> so I'm in and out of this a lot<g>

Yes, this also get on my nerves. The problem is that (in most cases) a
compiler variable is used in this field. For example:

file://[PORTABLE_DIR]\products\whatever

Quite a few developers create "portable" versions of their projects
(especially large companies). They can use the same SetupBuilder project
file on different machines by different team members. The compiler variable
is resolved at compile time and is not available at design time. So
"Browse..." does not have any idea what the location of
[PORTABLE_DIR]\products\whatever really is.

But it should be possible to change this "Browse..." behavior for absolute
paths. I'll see what I can do for SB7.

Thanks for your suggestion.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
12-27-2008, 03:05 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> But it should be possible to change this "Browse..." behavior for absolute
> paths. I'll see what I can do for SB7.

Well...

If Instring('[',FolderVar,1,1) Or Instring('%',FolderVar,1,1)
!! uses runtime vars/compiler vars, can't be resolved
Else
FolderVar = FolderVar[8 : Len(FolderVar)]
End
FolderDialog(...)

I don't use variables/compiler vars in there so for me this is a bit of a
PITA<g>

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Creative, Inc.
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php