PDA

View Full Version : Frustrated Dumb Newbie Question

shrkewin
01-22-2009, 10:15 AM
I have been using Setup Builder Version 4 for several years. Just got a new Vista laptop and had to update to the current version. My problem - I cannot get the exe specified in Run File to execute. The sb6 file successfully copies files to the desired location but the actual update routine (external vfp 9 exe file) does not start. Help, I am pulling my hair out!

linder
01-22-2009, 10:35 AM
Your can send your project to support (at) lindersoft (dot) com and we'll fix it for you.

You do not tell us what you are doing to start the executable nor where you are calling it ;)

Friedrich

linder
01-22-2009, 10:46 AM
Or perhaps the attached screenshot already gives you an idea. This will run sbuilder.exe located in the %_SB_INSTALLDIR% folder.

Friedrich

jtackabury
01-22-2009, 11:09 AM
I ran into this recently. If you are trying to run the file after an install in Windows Vista it won't run. This is because the install is (usually) running at a higher privilege than the user. There was a "fix" posted to this forum, but I don't have the link handy right now. It basically consisted of having 2 separate "final" dialogs - 1 for Vista and one for pre-Vista. The Vista dialog didn't present the option to run after install (because it doesn't work) and the pre-Vista one did.

linder
01-22-2009, 01:04 PM
No, this is not the problem :)

Your installation is running elevated under Vista, Windows Server 2008 and Windows 7. If you launch an application at the end of the installation (or during your installation), the elevated privileges are carried over to that application. But unless an application is designed to be run only by system administrators, it should always be run with the least privilege! In most cases, running an application with elevated privileges on Windows Vista platforms is discouraged. Developers would like to start the application