PDA

View Full Version : Using SB in System 7

TreeMeister
02-11-2009, 04:27 PM
I have installed 64 bit Windows 7 on a new computer. I have no other OS installed on that computer at present, but still have my XP PRO computer as fallback. (networked) My XP system's SB6 project folder is connected as a drive letter on Win 7. (I want the ability to fall back to XP at any time, in case Win 7 goes bonkers.) SB6 on Win7 is set up to use the connected XP project folder as the default project folder.

In XP PRO, I have always run in admin mode. Never had any rights issues doing anything in SB. I have no previous experience with Vista. I seem to be having some issues in Win7.

Here is the problem:

If I start up SB as a user, it instantly fires up ok and allows me to open projects. However, then when I attempt to access the user guide, SB tells me to run it as an admin.

But, if I try to start up SB with "run as administrator", UAC instantly asks me if I want to allow SB to "make changes". If I answer yes, then SB says it can't find the project folder, and asks me if I want to create it! This looks like an unusable state.

Is this all "expected Vista behavior" or have I installed it incorrectly?

linder
02-12-2009, 01:29 AM
Hello,

It only displays the "Run as admin" if you try to open the PDF manual, but the PDF manual is not available (had not been previously downloaded or installed). The underlying Windows Winsock core component (to download the PDF from the Internet) is only available to applications that run with administrator execution level privileges.

You can run the IDE as admin to download the PDF for you or manually download the PDF from our web site. If the PDF manual is installed, you can access it from the SetupBuilder IDE even when running as Standard User.