PDA

View Full Version : Checkboxes in the finish dialog



NewsArchive
10-04-2006, 12:16 AM
I wanted to have a variable number of checkboxes on the finish dialog
depending on which feature they had chosen.

set %choices% = "choice 1"
if "feature a" selected then
set %choices% = "|choice 2" (append)
end
if "feature B" selected then
set %choices% = "|choice 3" (append)
end

If I use this %choices% in the "Checkboxes" dialog, it will correctly
display the variable number of checkboxes, but when I use the
%choices% variable in the "Finish dialog" then it only ever displays 1
checkbox with the concatenated text.
i.e. assuming I had selected feature A then it gave me
[x] Choice1|Choice2
when I really wanted
[x] Choice 1
[x] Choice 2

Is this a limitation of the Finish Dialog (Checkbox text) or am I
doing this the wrong way?

Regards,
Alan
Alan Telford
Development Manager
Maxtel Software Ltd
http://www.maxtelsoftware.com

NewsArchive
10-04-2006, 12:16 AM
Alan,

The "Checkbox Text" field in the Finish dialog does not support variables
directly. Please create a new "text resource" (e.g. FINISH_CHOICES) and
set the value to %CHOICES%. Then use the text resource in the "Checkbox
Text" field in the Finish dialog as #CHOICES#

If you are interested, I can send you my test script.

Does this help?

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
10-05-2006, 01:12 AM
Friedrich,

Ah! I see.
I hadn't messed around with "text resources" at all, as I'm hoping not
to need them (pretty much all english).
I did find it a little confusing with the different groups. In this
case I'm assuming I had to create my new text resource as part of the
"Finish" group.

Thanks for the workaround. I've got that working nicely now.

Regards,
Alan