PDA

View Full Version : Run WUpdate from Clarion



NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:42 PM
Hello,

what is the perfect way to call wupdate.exe from within clarion?

And i switched on password protected for my custom wupdate.exe. But the update
will run without asking for a password. And if this will work itīs possible to
run wupdate.exe with a password as parameter?

Thanks much

Kai

NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:43 PM
Hello,

one of the questions i have seen. I need the password dialog. Password is only
for opening app...

Thanks much Kai

NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:43 PM
> And i switched on password protected for my custom wupdate.exe. But
> the update will run without asking for a password. And if this will
> work itīs possible to run wupdate.exe with a password as parameter?

I assume you have enabled the "Password Protected" option in the PROJECT
Properties. As the name implies, this will password protect your .sb6
PROJECT file and NOT your installation!

From the documentation:

---
Password Protected—To password protect a project script, specify a password.
To open a project in the future, you are prompted to enter the password.
Caution: Be sure to remember this password as it can't be recovered if you
lose or forget it.
---

To password protect your installation application, you can use the
"Password" Dialog.

HTH,

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:44 PM
>
> what is the perfect way to call wupdate.exe from within clarion?
>

I assume you have an "asInvoker" Clarion application, so ShellExecute() is
the way to go:

http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=25606&highlight=shellexecute#post25606

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:44 PM
Hello Friedrich,

thanks much for help. I found that passwort issue :-). All will work fine. I
use the Subscription Key and write it to an ini file. This will work to. Later
i need to look with my wupdate.exe for the key in the ini file. I think i can
figure that out. Your sample with stopping the running application is good for
me. Later i have to use that in my wupdate.exe.

Do you have an code sample to use ShellExecute in clarion? I like to silence
looking for an update. is there any error codes to fetch (and how) to start the
wupdate.exe only when an update is available?

Im not a so professional programmer ;-)

Thanks very much.

Kai

NewsArchive
02-26-2009, 12:45 PM
Hi Kay,

There are some good ShellExecuteEx source code demos for Clarion out there.

For example:

http://groups.google.com/group/comp.lang.clarion/msg/ce9857a075763ef4?hl=en&dmode=source

Please note that wupdate.exe (the Web Update Client) is the tool that checks
for updates. If an update is available, it can download and execute the
"real" web update installer package.

You can use wupdate.exe /C /S to check for updates silently. It returns 1
if an update is available.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner