PDA

View Full Version : Debugging



Arnor
12-04-2004, 03:22 PM
Hi Friedrich,

When I try to debug a project, things go wrong. What I did was I set the debug setting to FULL. Then compiled the project and then hit the debug button.

The only thing that happened was that the script editor opened and I got this:

{SELLNG}=1033

in the "Variables" list on the right.

If I hit the Debug button again SB5 tells me:

Debugger busy. Please close the active debugging project.

I close SB5 and then I have sbuilder.exe process running. I can start SB again but then I can't compile because the previous process has locked the exe. I have to kill the processes manually.

Best regards,

Arnor
12-04-2004, 03:39 PM
Hi Friedrich,

Just tested this on my laptop. Exactly the same results with the debugging.

Also, same results with the Run Program statement - nothing happens.

Gosh, you must be tired of me by now<g>

Best regards,

linder
12-05-2004, 05:29 AM
Arnór,

Please press F5 to start the debugger, then F8 to execute the next step. To stop debugging, please select Debug|Stop Debugging

Does this work?

Unregistered
12-05-2004, 09:17 AM
Hi Friedrich,

I press F5. "Debug|Single Step" now becomes enabled. I press F8. Nothing happens. I select "Debug|Stop Debugging" Nothing happens. I've waited several minutes to see if something is happening, but nothing happens. At this point I have to kill SB5 and then temerinate sbuilder.exe in the process list.

This happens on both my computers, both Compaq, both AMD. I'm sending you the setup file in a few minutes.

Best regards,

linder
12-06-2004, 02:17 AM
Hi Arnór,

I cannot reproduce this :( I have checked this on 5 different machines and it worked fine.

Could you please try this:

1. File|New|Empty Project...
2. Press Save... button
3. Set Debug to Minimum
4. Press Save button on the toolbar
5. Press Compile button on the toolbar
6. Press F5 (to start the debugger)
7. Press F8 (again and again to stop through the project)

Does this work?

Thanks,

linder
12-06-2004, 02:25 AM
Hi Arnór,

I can reproduce this with your script! Item is in review.

Thanks,

linder
12-06-2004, 06:00 AM
Hi Arnór,

This happens if the Installer Background is enabled. Workaround added!

Thanks,

Arnor
12-06-2004, 09:32 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Awsome:) Now, how does this debugger work? Does it send messages to external viewer such as DebugView (which I love and have open almost all the time when developing) or does it capture it internally?

Best regards,

linder
12-06-2004, 09:50 AM
Hi Arnór,

SB5 comes with its own (internal) script debugger. Very complex animal ;)