PDA

View Full Version : Install file with different name?



m787878
03-08-2007, 07:13 AM
Next question.. ;-)
Is it possible to install a file with a different name than the original?
e.g.
install xx_u.exe to xx.exe (for NT kind)
install xx_a.exe to xx.exe (for 9x kind)

Harald

Unregistered
03-08-2007, 07:23 AM
Harald,

You can add both xx.exe files to the same folder.

Then set the Target Operation System (Conditions tab) for your "NT" file to NT4, 2000, XP, 2003, and Vista. Set the Target Operation System for your "9x" file to 95, 98, 98 SE, and Me ;-)

Does this help?

Andrea

Sales and Support, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

m787878
03-08-2007, 07:32 AM
Hi Andrea,

I know the OS stuff, but unfortunately it doesn't help, because the target file name must be equal, regardless of the operating system. In fact I have a number (at least 6, maybe 12) of files (application versions) which all have the same target file name, but different sources.
File selection is based on OS, a compiler variable and maybe feature selection.

Harald

Unregistered
03-08-2007, 07:44 AM
Harald,

The only way I see to handle this is through the preprocessor. For example, the following before the Install Files functions:

#copy file "c:\development\nt\xx_u.exe" to "c:\sb6tmp\nt\xx.exe"
#copy file "c:\development\95\xx_a.exe" to "c:\sb6tmp\95\xx.exe"

Then add the c:\sb6tmp\nt\xx.exe or c:\sb6tmp\95\xx.exe source files.

Does this work for you?

Andrea

Sales and Support, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

m787878
03-08-2007, 09:00 AM
Well in theory it would work, although I don't like that solution.

But in reality it doesn't work :-(

case 1:
#copy file "c:\development\nt\[XX]_u.exe" to "c:\sb6tmp\[XX]nt\xx.exe"

I was unable to fill [XX] in a way that is working for commandline and IDE compilation.
-> #def misses option "prompt if not specified on commandline"

It seems to behave different if I define by #def or IDE/Compiler Variables or commandline.
The only workaround was to use #copy file without compiler variables surrounded by #ifdef for all cases.

Another thing I tried is to use custom exe file name based on a compiler variable.
But this doesn't work either if I want to define the variable on the commandline.

Finally, some notes:
In the #ifdef dialog there is a suggestion for SB_EDITION and SB_VER, but its not documented where it comes from.

Giving up for now :-(
Harald
PS: I know thats stress testing of your software, but that's just the beginning ;)

linder
03-08-2007, 09:11 AM
Harald,

I am sorry for the confusion. Andrea did not notice [XX] is a compiler variable in this case.

I think most problems you encountered are already fixed in our SetupBuilder 6.1. There is a new "Releases" feature - this provides new compiler variables functionality (e.g. #ifcompvar statements) and command line fixes.

We'll make the new version available within the next few days.

Friedrich

Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

m787878
03-09-2007, 04:43 AM
Well, she just didn't know about the compiler variable because I didn't tell her (I didn't know it either).

Looking forward to the new version.

Harald

linder
03-09-2007, 04:49 AM
Harald,

:)

We're currently in the final testing phase. SetupBuilder 6.1 will be available next week.

Have a great weekend,
Friedrich