PDA

View Full Version : Web update advice



NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:10 AM
Hi, I dont know how to solve this problem.

1- I distribute the Main installer with my app exe and dlls an the clarion
dlls
2- I make a web update app with only my exe and dlls ( the clarion dlls does
not change every time )
3- SV shoot a new release
4- I add the clarion dlls to the web update app
5- Some clientes upgrades, some not.
6- I make a new web update with my exe / dlls and thinking all my clients
are updated and to keep the web update as shot as possible, I remove the
clarion dlls from the web update.
7- Big problem with the clientes that had no upgrade.

I am thinking in make a second installer only with the clarion dlls
Is there any way to call a second webupdate installer called only when its
needed? I even dont realized how to know whether to call it or not....

Any advice?

--

Saludos / Regards,

Use TraceIt the best way to trace and support your applications!.
http://www.armi.com.ar/ARMi_TraceIt_ing.htm

Alberto Michelis
ARMi software solutions
www.armi.com.ar

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:11 AM
> 6- I make a new web update with my exe / dlls and thinking all my clients
> are updated and to keep the web update as shot as possible, I remove the
> clarion dlls from the web update.
> 7- Big problem with the clientes that had no upgrade.

Why do you "remove" the Clarion DLLs? The dynamic SetupBuilder web update
only downloads (and installs) what is required if the "Check File (CRC)"
File Replacement Option is enabled. So if a user already has the new DLLs,
web update does not download the files again. If a user does not have the
DLLs, web update downloads and installs the Clarion runtimes.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:11 AM
> 6- I make a new web update with my exe / dlls and thinking all my clients
> are updated and to keep the web update as shot as possible, I remove the
> clarion dlls from the web update.
> 7- Big problem with the clientes that had no upgrade.

Why do you "remove" the Clarion DLLs? The dynamic SetupBuilder web update
only downloads (and installs) what is required if the "Check File (CRC)"
File Replacement Option is enabled. So if a user already has the new DLLs,
web update does not download the files again. If a user does not have the
DLLs, web update downloads and installs the Clarion runtimes.

Because its a big system, many Mgs, and I want the ftp upload to be as fast
as possible.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:12 AM
> Because its a big system, many Mgs, and I want the ftp upload to be as
> fast as possible.

The following is a suggestion on how to "solve" this problem. IMO, it would
be "suboptimal" to remove the DLLs here because the idea behind web update
is to make the update process as painless as possible.

Let us assume, you have removed the DLLs and you are not sure whether all of
your customers already have the latest runtimes. What you can do is to
check (from your web update installer) if the user does have the correct
DLLs. You can handle this with the "Get File Information..." script
function -- for example, you check the version info, or even better, the
CRC-32. If it turns out that the user does NOT have the required DLLs, stop
the update install and tell him that he needs to download a "patch" from
your site to bring the runtimes to the latest version. After that, he can
restart the web update process.

The "patch" on your site will be a single-file installer which includes the
latest SV runtimes. You only have to upload it if SV makes new runtimes
available.

But to save time for your uploads, you'll add another level of complexity
for your customers (IMO).

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:12 AM
Ok, thanks

--

Saludos / Regards,

Use TraceIt the best way to trace and support your applications!.
http://www.armi.com.ar/ARMi_TraceIt_ing.htm

Use TraceIt la mejor manera de tracear y dar soporte a sus aplicaciones!
http://www.armi.com.ar/ARMi_TraceIt_esp.htm

Alberto Michelis
ARMi software solutions
www.armi.com.ar

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:12 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> The following is a suggestion on how to "solve" this problem. IMO, it would
> be "suboptimal" to remove the DLLs here because the idea behind web update
> is to make the update process as painless as possible.

I have sometimes wondered if there was a way to simplify this process.
Let's say that I upload an update that includes 10 fairly static DLLs. I do
want to keep the DLLs in each webupdate but that means I have to upload them
every time. My upload speed is not the greatest and it takes a while. But
I know that SB numbers the files in the upload in a specific way. WHAT if
SB could be told to keep certain names for certain upload files? That way,
if those certain files hadn't changed, you wouldn't have to upload them with
each web build? I have no idea if this is possible, but perhaps food for
thought?

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:13 AM
Hi Arnór,

> I have sometimes wondered if there was a way to simplify this process.
> Let's say that I upload an update that includes 10 fairly static DLLs. I
> do want to keep the DLLs in each webupdate but that means I have to upload
> them every time. My upload speed is not the greatest and it takes a
> while. But I know that SB numbers the files in the upload in a specific
> way. WHAT if SB could be told to keep certain names for certain upload
> files? That way, if those certain files hadn't changed, you wouldn't have
> to upload them with each web build? I have no idea if this is possible,
> but perhaps food for thought?

The file installation sequence determines the "extension" of the cluster
files. BTW, you can see the "Cluster ID" and "real" File name (and even the
CRC-32) in the compiler HTML report.

If you do not change the file installation sequence in your project and you
always install the same runtime files, then there is no need to upload these
files again!

Let us assume, you have 5 static DLLs. You define the DLLs before any other
Install File(s) function in your project and you'll always have the same
cluster names.

Install File "test1.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test2.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test3.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test4.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test5.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"

This will result in:

test1.dll = cluster.00001
test2.dll = cluster.00002
test3.dll = cluster.00003
test4.dll = cluster.00004
test5.dll = cluster.00005

But if you change the position of test1.dll and test2.dll:

Install File "test2.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test1.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test3.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test4.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"
Install File "test5.dll" to "%_SB_INSTALLDIR%"

You'll get:

test2.dll = cluster.00001 <---- changed
test1.dll = cluster.00002 <---- changed
test3.dll = cluster.00003
test4.dll = cluster.00004
test5.dll = cluster.00005

If you would not upload the new files (with the changed installation
sequence) then you would get a "File Expected from server and received do
not match" error at runtime.

BTW, it's also possible to add your 10 fairly static DLLs to an include
script and then link that include script befor any other Install File()
function.

Does this help?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:14 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> BTW, it's also possible to add your 10 fairly static DLLs to an include
> script and then link that include script befor any other Install File()
> function.
>
> Does this help?

I think the include script is a cool idea. I haven't really run into this
because all my web installs are still using the same Clarion versions<g> but
it has occured to me that something like this could be useful:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:14 AM
Hi Arnór,

> I think the include script is a cool idea. I haven't really run into this
> because all my web installs are still using the same Clarion versions<g>
> but it has occured to me that something like this could be useful:)

Absolutely :)

And I think we can even add some optional functionality to SetupBuilder to
automate the "filtering" process. For example, specify the "previous"
compiler HTML report and after the new generation process, the compiler
removes (based on the previous compiler report list) all files from the FTP
upload queue that are already on the server. In other words, the compiler
would only upload files that need to be uploaded.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:17 AM
> Hi Friedrich,
>
>> The following is a suggestion on how to "solve" this problem. IMO, it would
>> be "suboptimal" to remove the DLLs here because the idea behind web update
>> is to make the update process as painless as possible.
>
> I have sometimes wondered if there was a way to simplify this process.
> Let's say that I upload an update that includes 10 fairly static DLLs. I do
> want to keep the DLLs in each webupdate but that means I have to upload them
> every time. My upload speed is not the greatest and it takes a while. But
> I know that SB numbers the files in the upload in a specific way. WHAT if
> SB could be told to keep certain names for certain upload files? That way,
> if those certain files hadn't changed, you wouldn't have to upload them with
> each web build? I have no idea if this is possible,

> but perhaps food for thought?

Arnor,

WELL, you DID bring up the "food" word - small Frankfurt food story
follows:

Stationed in England (US Air Force) for 2 years, sent to Frankfurt - TDY -
3 weeks for additional electronics classes

Ventured into Frankfurt one weekend - typical lost tourist look - one of
the locals approached - "Do you need directions?" - hmnnn - YES! :-D

He became a guide for the next couple hours for another airman and me - so,
only reasonable thing to do was - pay for his meal - I thought, this is
great - he'll know GREAT German restaurant where we can get some fine local
cuisine!

"OK, where DO YOU want to eat?"

"Kentucky Fried Chicken!"

Oh well, Fried Chicken and GOOD German beer - not a bad combination! :-D

DON'T EVEN make me tell the English Kentucky Fried Chicken story - you know
where they cook the FISH AND Chicken in the SAME grease!

David

--
From David Troxell - Product Scope 7.9 - Encourager Software
Product Scope 7 Viewer - NO Registration Fee! Free to Use!
http://www.encouragersoftware.com/
Clarion Third Party Profile Exchange Online
http://encouragersoftware.com/profile/clarlinks.html
http://www.profileexchanges.com/blog/

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:18 AM
Hi David,

> DON'T EVEN make me tell the English Kentucky Fried Chicken story - you know
> where they cook the FISH AND Chicken in the SAME grease!

I thought all fast food places did that;) It sure all taste the same.

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
10-03-2009, 02:18 AM
> Hi David,
>
>> DON'T EVEN make me tell the English Kentucky Fried Chicken story - you know
>> where they cook the FISH AND Chicken in the SAME grease!
>
> I thought all fast food places did that;) It sure all taste the same.

Arnor,

Well, fast food fish has a very generic taste, so mixing them probably
doesn't really change taste much.

OTOH, REAL English Fish and Chip shops (including this particular English
Kentucky Fried Fish franchise) have QUITE of variety of fish they offer -
over 90 varieties in one shop I frequented.

Imagine a particular fish that has a particularly "gamey" or "pungent fish
taste" - and your chicken order has been fried with it - UGH!

There WILL be NO doubt in your taste buds - it doesn't work!

David

--
From David Troxell - Product Scope 7.9 - Encourager Software
Product Scope 7 Viewer - NO Registration Fee! Free to Use!
http://www.encouragersoftware.com/
Clarion Third Party Profile Exchange Online
http://encouragersoftware.com/profile/clarlinks.html
http://www.profileexchanges.com/blog/

NewsArchive
10-06-2009, 02:14 AM
That will be cooooollllllllllllllllllll !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

--

Saludos / Regards,

Use TraceIt the best way to trace and support your applications!.
http://www.armi.com.ar/ARMi_TraceIt_ing.htm

Alberto Michelis
ARMi software solutions
www.armi.com.ar