PDA

View Full Version : wupdate



NewsArchive
03-16-2007, 11:42 AM
After the wupdate.exe program reads version information from the server
manifest
file and determines that the version installed on the customers computer is
out
of date, does it then use "Setup=" value from the manifest file to determine
the
EXE file name to download and then execute to run the update process?


Mike

NewsArchive
03-16-2007, 11:42 AM
Yes, that is correct.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-02-2007, 03:34 AM
is there a way to have Wupdate just check to see if an update exists and
report back to the user that an update exists or do i need to create a web
update install?

--
Eric Jacobowitz
www.castlecomputer.com
www.cctsoftware.com

NewsArchive
09-02-2007, 03:35 AM
Hi Eric,

>is there a way to have Wupdate just check to see if an update exists and
>report back to the user that an update exists or do i need to create a web
>update install?

You can use the /C /S parameter for the wupdate.exe. Here is what I
use:

Run('wupdate.exe /C /S',1)
If RunCode() = 1
Message('There is a newer version available. Do you want to download?',|
'Updates available',ICON:Question,BUTTON:Yes+BUTTON:No)=BUT TON:Yes
Run('wupdate.exe')
Halt()
Else
Message('This program is current')
End

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
09-02-2007, 03:35 AM
Thanks Arnor

I actually figured it out. But I do have another question

1. Do I need to distribute the manifest file (I am calling it appname.wup) -
i dont think so, I think I just need to upload it to my server


2. I have 4 installs that will call the update file, I assume I need to have
the same product ID for each and enable the web update and insatall update
client on all 4 installs?

--
Eric Jacobowitz
www.castlecomputer.com
www.cctsoftware.com

NewsArchive
09-02-2007, 03:36 AM
Hi Eric,

>1. Do I need to distribute the manifest file (I am calling it appname.wup) -
>i dont think so, I think I just need to upload it to my server

I only distribute the wupdate.exe. The main install needs to be
compiled for web update. I.e. in the "Web Deployment" section you
specify "Enable Web Update" and "Install Web Update Client" This
installs all the correct registry keys and wupdate.exe. The install
builds the .ini but all I do is execute the install. Then when you
build the webupdate install you upload it, along with the manifest to
the folder that you specified in the "Enable Web Update" in the
original main install.

>2. I have 4 installs that will call the update file, I assume I need to have
>the same product ID for each and enable the web update and insatall update
>client on all 4 installs?

I think so. There is a thread from last year, started by me on May 5,
2006 with the subject of "Single wupdate.exe, multiple targets" where
Friedrich has some ideas on this subject. I'm sure you can find it on
the SB Forums if you can not find it in your newsreader:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:13 AM
I have not tested it, but wouldn't
Chain('wupdate.exe') be better than halting the program?
Bjarne

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:14 AM
Hi Bjarne,

>I have not tested it, but wouldn't
>Chain('wupdate.exe') be better than halting the program?

Since I've used this code for over 2 years now without a single
problem I don't know if one is better than the other. I _know_ that
Halt() has worked without a single hickup. At the end of the update
install the program is run again and keep operating perfectly:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php