PDA

View Full Version : Manifest file



NewsArchive
10-14-2009, 02:21 AM
Friedrich,

I'm using web update and I've specified a filename.ini for this because
there is still an issue with this (which I know you are looking into). When
I do a check for updates, I'm getting a "Cannot download server manifest
file." message.

I thought it was because I did not comment out the compiler statements
dealing with this, but its still coming up. It has to be somewhere else
where I set $HOST_MANIFEST$ value or something.

I'm just not seeing it. I've check the script and the web update entries.
Where else could it be getting the name of the manifest file? I'm assuming
that a network error 505010054 means "file not found".

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-14-2009, 02:21 AM
By "filename.ini" are you referring to the web update properties or to the
server manifest?

If the latter...
Can you download the file directly using IE ?
Could it be the old MIME problem?
http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1286

Are you using wupdate or wucheck? Remember that you can modify and
recompile those scripts if you need to - they're stored inside your SB
folder\Redist\1033


Jane

NewsArchive
10-14-2009, 02:22 AM
Hi Russ,

> I'm using web update and I've specified a filename.ini for this because
> there is still an issue with this (which I know you are looking into).
> When I do a check for updates, I'm getting a "Cannot download server
> manifest file." message.
>
> I thought it was because I did not comment out the compiler statements
> dealing with this, but its still coming up. It has to be somewhere else
> where I set $HOST_MANIFEST$ value or something.
>
> I'm just not seeing it. I've check the script and the web update entries.
> Where else could it be getting the name of the manifest file? I'm
> assuming that a network error 505010054 means "file not found".

If you compile a "web update" enabled install, the compiler will generate
the manifest file defined in the "Server Manifest File" iDeploy Web Update
Properties. The manifest is generated in your [OUTPUTDIR] folder and looks
like this:

[SB5UPDATE]
Version=1.50
Setup=Radfusion.exe

What Jane suggested is perfect. Download that manifest file using IE -- if
you can't download it, then it's not there or you have a MIME issue (if you
are running IIS). But I "think" (I am not sure) that this would result in a
5060 type error.

Error 505010054 is "WSAECONNRESET - Error 10054". A connection was forcibly
closed by a peer. This normally results from a loss of the connection on
the remote socket due to a timeout or a reboot.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:14 AM
web update.

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:15 AM
I'll give that a go. But this used to work (until I converted to a SKU type
project), so I'm 99% sure this was caused by me.

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:16 AM
> I'll give that a go. But this used to work (until I converted to a SKU
> type project), so I'm 99% sure this was caused by me.

Just try to download the manifest with IE to see if it is really accessible.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:16 AM
Both manifests are accessible. I even read the contents <g>

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:16 AM
>
> Both manifests are accessible. I even read the contents <g>
>

<g>

The next step is to chck if the correct host information is compiled into
your installer. You can use the #msg to see the current value of a compiler
variable.

For example:

#msg "[MY_HOST_ADDRESS]"

And if you check the registry (after you installed the application), do you
see the correct values in:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Lindersoft\WebUpdate\A pps\<YOURGUID>

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:17 AM
>>
>> Both manifests are accessible. I even read the contents <g>
>>
>
> <g>
>
> The next step is to chck if the correct host information is compiled into
> your installer. You can use the #msg to see the current value of a compiler
> variable.
>
> For example:
>
> #msg "[MY_HOST_ADDRESS]"
>
> And if you check the registry (after you installed the application), do you
> see the correct values in:
>
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Lindersoft\WebUpdate\A pps\<YOURGUID>

or (:-D)

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Lindersoft \WebUpdate\Apps\<YOURGUID>

David

--
From David Troxell - Product Scope 7.9 - Encourager Software
Product Scope 7 Viewer - NO Registration Fee! Free to Use!
http://www.encouragersoftware.com/
Clarion Third Party Profile Exchange Online
http://encouragersoftware.com/profile/clarlinks.html
http://www.profileexchanges.com/blog/

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:17 AM
> or (:-D)
>
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Lindersoft \WebUpdate\Apps\<YOURGUID>

Yes <g> ;-)

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:18 AM
These lines:

#const $HOST_ADDRESS$ = Get Value from INI file: [CONFIG_FILE]
#set compiler variable [HOST_ADDRESS] = "$HOST_ADDRESS%"
#msg "[HOST_ADDRESS]"

Produce a message:

[$HOST_ADDRESS%]

The host address in the config file is as follows:

[$HOST_ADDRESS$]
Value=http://www.radfusion.com

The GUID for this install is not in the registry on my test machine.

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:18 AM
Russ,

Your:

#set compiler variable [HOST_ADDRESS] = "$HOST_ADDRESS%"

should be:

#set compiler variable [HOST_ADDRESS] = "$HOST_ADDRESS$"

The ending "%" is not correct!

And in your config file, it should be:

[$HOST_ADDRESS$]

and not:

[$HOST_ADDRESS%]

Does this help?

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:19 AM
You see?! I told you it was something on my side! When will you ever
listen? <vbg>

Thanks bunches!

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:19 AM
> You see?! I told you it was something on my side! When will you ever
> listen? <vbg>
>
> Thanks bunches!

<VBG> :-) You are very welcome.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:20 AM
BTW - found the cause for manifest error. I've named the update program
different than wupdate.exe in my app. The program does not exist anymore,
and its named conditionally like the other areas in the config file.

Just awaiting an upload, download, install and check for update test to
confirm...

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm

NewsArchive
10-15-2009, 03:20 AM
Glad I stepped out for a bit to think about that. Decided it would be best
to name the update program the same, there really is no reason to give each
custom build a different program name. They are deployed to the correct
folders anyway.

That would have lead me down the path to the painted corner <g>

Now I just need to clear out my temp folders so I can actually download the
install!

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Clarion developers: www.radfusion.com/devs.htm