PDA

View Full Version : SetupBuilder 5 Developer Edition (#1019) WebUpdate


NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:25 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 6:46 PM]

SetupBuilder 5 Developer (#1014) Users,

Please click "Check for Updates..." from within your SB5 IDE and let me know
what happens. The WebUpdate process should patch your SB5 version to build
1019.

If it works fine, we'll upload the SetupBuilder 5 Professional Edition
tomorrow.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

- SetupBuilder 5.0 Build 1019 January 17, 2005)

Features/Improvements/Fixes/Workaround/Changes/Notes:

IMPROVEMENT: Move Up/Down in the Script Editor can move multiple lines
IMPROVEMENT: Add "Copy Text to Clipboard" item to the Script popup menu
FIX : Possible compiler freeze
FIX : Possible WebUpdate incompatibility with ZoneAlarm when the
WebUpdate client is started from the command line
CHANGE : Script engine runs on its own thread

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:26 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 6:57 PM]

The update went flawlessly.

Bob

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:26 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:36 AM]

Thanks, Bob!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:27 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 7:02 PM]

Worked perfectly!

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:27 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:36 AM]

Thanks, Greg.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:27 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 7:27 PM]

On mine I get the attached picture, which then disappears. Nothing
changes version-wise. Tried restarting the program a couple of times,
with and without proxy--same result. I don't see the c:\sb51019_dev.exe
file downloaded to my c: drive.

Let me know what you need to troubleshoot. Running a p4 3GHz with XP
SP2, 2GB RAM.

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:28 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 9:25 PM]

> On mine I get the attached picture, which then disappears. Nothing
> changes version-wise. Tried restarting the program a couple of times,
> with and without proxy--same result. I don't see the c:\sb51019_dev.exe
> file downloaded to my c: drive.

I get the same results.

XP Pro - SP1

I tried it with and without the SystemSuite Firewall enabled.

Charles

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:28 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:07 AM]

Hi Charles,

It's not caused by a firewall or proxy problem ;-) Could you please send me
your SB5 uninstall .log file (located in your main SB5 folder)? The web
update client should download the patch to the current SB5 folder, not to
the root folder.

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:29 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:07 AM]

Could you please send me your SB5 uninstall .log file (located in your main
SB5 folder)? The web update client should download the patch to the current
SB5 folder, not to the root folder.

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:29 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 3:46 PM]

uninst.log sent via private email.

....jack

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:30 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 4:56 PM]

Jack,

Thank you! See private email.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:30 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 7:49 PM]

No problem here either.....

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:30 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:39 AM]

Thanks, Paul.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:31 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 9:00 PM]

> SetupBuilder 5 Developer (#1014) Users,
>
> Please click "Check for Updates..." from within your SB5 IDE and let me know
> what happens. The WebUpdate process should patch your SB5 version to build
> 1019.

Friedrich,

It updated with no problems - question and comment: once you are past this
test phase, will you be able to reduce the number of steps involved in the
WebUpdate process? It just seemed to me that other programs I have used with
web updating, do it without quite so many mouse clicks (keypresses).

David

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:31 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 9:03 PM]

> test phase, will you be able to reduce the number of steps involved in the
> WebUpdate process? It just seemed to me that other programs I have used
> with
> web updating, do it without quite so many mouse clicks (keypresses).

You lazy bum! <BG>

Happy New Year by the way!

Greg Berthume

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:32 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 12:59 AM]

> > test phase, will you be able to reduce the number of steps involved in the
> > WebUpdate process? It just seemed to me that other programs I have used
> > with
> > web updating, do it without quite so many mouse clicks (keypresses).
>
> You lazy bum! <BG>
>
> Happy New Year by the way!

Greg,

Happy New Year to you TOO! <g>

Yes, it's true, too many mouse clicks make me dizzy! <g> It is one amazing
product! AND Lindersoft will be using cpTracker PRO
(http://www.berthume.com/cptracker.htm) to good advantage to keep track of
all their success and customer needs!

David

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:32 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 10:02 AM]

David,

The "standard" web update client displays the dialogs to give the end-user
full control over the web updating process. But the wupdate client
executable is compiled from a SetupScript. In the Redist\1033 directory
within the SetupBuilder Installation System application directory, you'll
find the installation script that compiles it (wupdate.sb5). So you can do
whatever you want ;-)

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:33 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:12 PM]

> David,
>
> The "standard" web update client displays the dialogs to give the end-user
> full control over the web updating process. But the wupdate client
> executable is compiled from a SetupScript.

C:\Program Files\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 5 Developer\Redist\1033\wupdate.sb5

Friedrich,

Ah, now I understand - you chose to give us FULL CONTROL, however, when
using the wupdate.sb5 script for an example (and starting point), we can
give users a Less Control - but more automated ride.... Clever, very clever!

thanks a million!

David

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:33 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:22 PM]

'Check for updates...'

Works perfect. Now I have installed 5019.

Nelson Carvalho

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:34 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 9:38 PM]

Worked very good!

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:34 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:39 AM]

Thank you!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:34 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 10:29 PM]

Hi Friedrich

Looks like I have a problem <g>. I get the following message when I run the
the web update.

All the best

Trevor Cox
Simple Computing

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:35 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:42 AM]

Hi Trevor,

Did you install the 1014 build for the current user (Only for me) or for all
users that share your computer (Anyone who uses this computer)?

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:35 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 10:33 PM]

Hi Friedrich,
I'm using build 5.0.1014
Mine didn't work....
All looked good at first, went through the download, then received the
message:

"The WebUpdate application failed to detect a previous version of your
application."

Tried again, still the same.
Rebooted PC, tried again, same result.

FWIW,
-Brian

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:35 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:42 AM]

Brian,

Did you install the 1014 build for the current user (Only for me) or for all
users that share your computer (Anyone who uses this computer)?

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:36 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 5:24 PM]

Hi Friedrich,
I'm pretty sure I installed it for current user only.

-Brian

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:36 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 5:27 PM]

Just tried to update again and this time all went well; so I think you've
got it fixed!

-Brian

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:36 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:19 PM]

Thank you!!!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:37 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 10:51 PM]

Friedrich,

I attempted to upgrade from version 1014. It properly determined an upgrade
was available and went through the motions of installing, only to report
that a previous version was not found. See attached.

The "About" screen still reports build 1014 and attempting to compile a
project seems to work correctly so no apparent damage done. Just didn't
upgrade. Also, even though I installed SB5 with the key provided and it has
been working correctly, I noticed the about screen reports I am using an
unlicensed beta version. ( See attached ) Could that be the problem? How do
I fix it?

HTH

Lee

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:37 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:45 AM]

Lee,

Did you install the 1014 build for the current user (Only for me) or for all
users that share your computer (Anyone who uses this computer)?

The web update feature uses a new technology to make sure it will not damage
your original version.

BTW, the upcoming SB5 "Production Release" will remove the "unlicensed copy"
message. There are only licensed copy available at the moment so the IDE
protection module is disabled.

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:37 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:28 AM]

Friedrich,

I installed it (Only For Me).

Is this what you expected installing it this way?

Lee

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:38 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 9:55 AM]

Lee,

I can reproduce this problem. The web update installer only detected
"Anyone who uses this computer" (this is a bug). I'll upload an updated
"web update" images within the next few hours.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:38 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 10:14 AM]

Lee,

Could you please click again "Check for Updates..." from within your SB5 IDE
and let me know what happens. The WebUpdate process should patch your SB5
version to build 1019.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:39 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:24 PM]

Friedrich,

Installed perfectly this time.

Thanks.

Lee

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:39 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:33 PM]

Thank you, Lee!!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:39 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 11:09 PM]

Friedrich,
it worked well from here - through both a proxy server and a hardware
firewall.
Cheers!
Dave Beggs

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:40 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:51 AM]

Perfect. Thank you, Dave.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:40 AM
[Monday, January 17, 2005 11:12 PM]

Friedrich,

Follow up on my last post.

I found the file "sb51019_dev.exe" in the ROOT of my C: drive. Is this
supposed to be left behind after either a successful, or in my case, a
failed upgrade? Is there an option somewhere that I missed that would allow
me to have it downloaded into a folder of my choice?

Lee

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:41 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 12:47 AM]

Friedrich,

> If it works fine, we'll upload the SetupBuilder 5 Professional Edition
> tomorrow.
>
Worked perfectly on XP SP2.

Dave

Dave Harms

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:41 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:51 AM]

Thank you, Dave!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:42 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 1:48 AM]

Worked with no problems. Very slick

Hyrum Tatton
TES-Software

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:42 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:51 AM]

Thank you, Hyrum.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:42 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 6:55 AM]

Worked here perfectly, is code signing supported yet?

Mike...

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:43 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 8:51 AM]

Thank you, Mike.

Yes, the Developer Edition supports code signing. Our latest internal
version can check for code signing errors. I'll upload a patch soon.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:43 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 1:53 PM]

Hi Friedrich,

I keep getting the attached error with the following cleanup messages.

Best Regards,
Geoff Spillane

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:44 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 2:02 PM]

Hi Geoff,

What happens if you try it again?

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:44 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 12:42 AM]

Hi Friedrich,

I had tried three times the other night, both on dialup and 64k/256k
adsl. I have upgraded to 256k/512k adsl (and you have probably done
something too :)) and it worked perfectly.

Best Regards,
Geoff Spillane

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:44 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 1:31 PM]

Hi Geoff,

Yes :) The downloaded WebUpdate install image is compiled with #1021 and
fixes a binary patch problem. Good thing is that our "Delayed File Install"
technology prevents the installer from destroying the system.

BTW, the WebUpdate client updated itself and incorporates some proxy
modifications. I hope it's stable now ;-) Next update will tell...

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:45 AM
[Friday, January 21, 2005 5:04 PM]

Friedrich,

> Yes :) The downloaded WebUpdate install image is compiled with #1021 and
> fixes a binary patch problem. Good thing is that our "Delayed File Install"
> technology prevents the installer from destroying the system.
>

FYI, yesterday I tried (incorrectly) to D/L and install the PRO (not Developer)
version from the link you posted. It _did_ delete the prior version of
Developer (after asking me if that's what I wanted to do), then would not take
my Developer serial no when installing the new PRO vesion. The result was that
I ended up with _no_ version installed.

Of course it was simple to just reinstall and run the webupdate to get back to
where I was, but it might be helpfull to have a warning message indicating that
the version being installed over (e.g. pro or developer) is not the same as
what is _being_ installed.

JAT,

Larry Teames
CPCS, Inc.

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:45 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 3:20 PM]

Friedrich,

Worked perfectly!

Thanks,

Larry Teames
CPCS, Inc.

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:46 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 3:23 PM]

Thank you, Larry!!

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:46 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 3:50 PM]

Friedrich,

The upgrade worked just fine for me.

Skip

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:46 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 4:53 PM]

Thank you, Skip!!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:47 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 5:15 PM]

That is what happened here. ;-)

--
Russ Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:47 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:10 PM]

Nothing?? <g> ;-)

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:47 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 5:56 PM]

Hi Friedich

It worked fine over 3G & GPRS.

Cheers

Richard

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:48 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:10 PM]

Thank you, Richard!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:48 AM
[Tuesday, January 18, 2005 7:18 PM]

> SetupBuilder 5 Developer (#1014) Users,
>
> Please click "Check for Updates..." from within your SB5 IDE and let me know
> what happens. The WebUpdate process should patch your SB5 version to build
> 1019.
>
> If it works fine, we'll upload the SetupBuilder 5 Professional Edition
> tomorrow.

Works fine for me on XP SP1.
--

Mark

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:49 AM
[Wednesday, January 19, 2005 1:40 PM]

Performed just great :-)

Well done Friedrich!

Regards
-Viggo.
MediLink Software

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 08:49 AM
[Wednesday, January 19, 2005 2:07 PM]

Thank you, Viggo!

Friedrich