PDA

View Full Version : wupdate to onky check for update



NewsArchive
05-09-2007, 10:45 AM
What command line do I use to have the standard wupdate.exe program just
check for updates and report back with the exit code.

I know it used /C but can't find the rest in the docs.

Thanks,

Mike

NewsArchive
05-09-2007, 10:45 AM
Hi Mike,

>What command line do I use to have the standard wupdate.exe program just
>check for updates and report back with the exit code.
>
>I know it used /C but can't find the rest in the docs.


wupdate.exe /C /S

that's Check Silently:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-09-2007, 10:45 AM
Arnor,

Thank you.

Since Friedrich is sleeping I wonder if you could help me some more.

I want wupdate to check if there is an update available and return that
information to my Clarion program.

I also use a /V on the command line to specify a special string so that
wupdate.exe can not be run by itself.

So the code I use to RUN the wupdate.exe program is:

RUN( 'wupdate.exe /C /S /V EC6UPDATEMAGICWORD abcd', 1)

I am expecting the wupdate script to issue a Exit Installation 1 (or 0) and
be able to get that value by calling RUNCODE().

Is my thinking proper ?

Mike

NewsArchive
05-09-2007, 10:45 AM
Hi Mike,

>
>RUN( 'wupdate.exe /C /S /V EC6UPDATEMAGICWORD abcd', 1)
>
>I am expecting the wupdate script to issue a Exit Installation 1 (or 0) and
>be able to get that value by calling RUNCODE().
>
>Is my thinking proper ?

Yes. My code is something like this:

Run('wupdate.exe /C /S',1)
RC = RunCode()
If RC = 1
If Message('New update available. Update program?',|
'New update available',ICON:Questio,|
BUTTON:Yes+BUTTON:No,BUTTON:Yes) = BUTTON:Yes
Run('wupdate.exe')
Halt()
End
Else
Message('No updates available','Program upto date')
End

In the end of my webupdate script I have a checkbox to run the exe
(where the code above is in) so that once the webinstall is done it
runs the program again, so the update is pretty seamless. Works
great:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-09-2007, 10:46 AM
Thank you Arnor.

It is working OK now.

Mike