PDA

View Full Version : SB import SB4


NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:19 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 5:29 PM]

Can I import my SB4 setups into SB5? I dont see how

--
Eric Jacobowitz
www.castlecomputer.com

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:19 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 5:42 PM]

Eric,

Unfortunately, SB5 cannot open SB4 files. SB5 has a different philosophy
regarding the project management (and feature set). SB5 is completely
"script driven".

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:19 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 6:31 PM]

So I guess we have to start from scratch when we move our SB4 installs to SB5? Ouch!!!

Chris

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:20 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 6:43 PM]

Chris,

Of course, you can still use your old SB4 installations (there is nothing
wrong with that). Because SB5 gives you so much more power and flexibility,
it's wise to "rethink" some distribution projects.

If you create new projects, I would consider SB5 ;-)

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:20 AM
[Friday, January 21, 2005 1:05 AM]

That is exactly what I will be doing. I will probably try to move my SB4
install that I am having problems with on Win 98 machines to SB5 and see if
that helps.

Thanks.

NewsArchive
01-22-2005, 09:21 AM
[Thursday, January 20, 2005 7:20 PM]

Hi Chris,

>So I guess we have to start from scratch when we move our SB4 installs to SB5? Ouch!!!

It's a breeze! I've taken a SB4 project and converted it to SB5 in 20
minutes or less! OTOH SB5 is so much more powerful than SB4 that it
may take you longer simply because you may want to add lot more bells
and whistles to your setups:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software