PDA

View Full Version : How to add automatic silent test for updates



NewsArchive
05-30-2007, 12:31 AM
In my clarion program?

What is needed in the program on startup, and what is needed in the setup.
I have made an IP based SQL version of my program, ehere i want all stations
allways to have the same version.

So on startup i need something like RUN(WUUPDATE /Parameter) to check, and
in the setup some lines to close down the program untill it is updated I
think.

Have i missed a 'How to' part of the doc's?

Best regards

Edvard Korsbęk

NewsArchive
05-30-2007, 12:31 AM
Hi Edvard,

>Have i missed a 'How to' part of the doc's?

Here is the code I use. The trick is the /C (check) and /S (silent)
parameters:

CheckForUpdates ROUTINE
Data
Rc Long
Ec Long
Code

Run('wupdate.exe /C /S',1)
RC = RunCode()
If RC = 1
If Message('There are new updates to the Broker Intellect II program available for download. ' &|
'If you want to update the program, the program will shut down automatically and ' &|
'run the web update wizard.' &|
'||Do you want to update the program now?',|
'Updates Available - download now?',|
'~RO-Mx1_house.ico',|
Button:Yes+Button:No)=Button:Yes
Run('wupdate.exe')
Halt()
End
Else
Message('No updates to download','No new updates','~RO-Mx1_house.ico')
End

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
05-31-2007, 02:10 AM
Thanks - I will check it out

Edvard Korsbęk