PDA

View Full Version : 2 (dumb?) Qs..



NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:22 AM
#1 - where do I get a Vista manifest from, ( a 'default' one?), to supply as
the target for the embed Vista manifest script function?

#2 - Where is the script item that deals with setting install path?
I know I can set it up in the Project Properties, but suppose I want to
change the install path, depending upon the Windows version.
(I'm used to seeing all settings appear in the script)

Steve

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:22 AM
Hi Steve,

> #1 - where do I get a Vista manifest from, ( a 'default' one?), to supply
> as the target for the embed Vista manifest script function?

The compiler handles this automatically for you. No need to define a
"default" one.

> #2 - Where is the script item that deals with setting install path?
> I know I can set it up in the Project Properties, but suppose I want to
> change the install path, depending upon the Windows version.
> (I'm used to seeing all settings appear in the script)

The default installation path is stored in the %_SB_INSTALLDIR% variable.

You can modify the variable wherever you want in the script.

Does this help?

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:23 AM
>> #1 - where do I get a Vista manifest from, ( a 'default' one?), to supply
>> as the target for the embed Vista manifest script function?
>
> The compiler handles this automatically for you. No need to define a
> "default" one.

But when I add the embed Vista manifest, the pre-Processor *requires* a file
name.....
thus my question??


>> #2 - Where is the script item that deals with setting install path?
>> I know I can set it up in the Project Properties, but suppose I want to
>> change the install path, depending upon the Windows version.
>> (I'm used to seeing all settings appear in the script)
>
> The default installation path is stored in the %_SB_INSTALLDIR% variable.

Ok - so I should just treat this as an initialised variable?
(Initialised by the Properties dialog)

Steve Bywaters

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:23 AM
Re. # 1 - Ok, I see - the "FileName" referred to is the file I am going to
install, NOT the name of the manifest file.
(May need clarification in prompt text?)

Do all DLLs need manifest added too, or just the main EXE?

Steve

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:23 AM
Steve,

File Name:

[in] String that specifies the path and file name of a portable executable
(PE) file in which to embed a Vista-aware manifest. The compiler must be
able to obtain write-access to this file.

Add the manifest to your main .EXE

HTH,

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:24 AM
#1. SB can insert manifests in two ways - for the installer itself or for
any of your own files that you specify.
If you use the #Embed Vista Manifest compiler directive, the "File Name" is
the name of your program "MyApp.exe". "Program Name" and "Program
Description" are largely irrelevant descriptive elements that get inserted
into the manifest.
(And Friedrich - the online help for that script item needs to be fixed.
"Program Name" and "Program Descriptions" are not checkboxes! <VBG>)

You don't need the compiler directive to have a manifest inserted into the
installer itself - it automatically gets one. On the Generator tab in the
General Information window (from Project | Settings on the main menu),
you're configuring the manifest for the installer when you choose the
"Execution Level". Normally, you should leave that at its default of
requireAdministrator.

2. To change a variable, use the Set Variable script function in the
General Installer Functions section. You can create your own variable names
or use the dropdown list which shows all variables that have been declared
up to this point in the script. You'll see %_SB_INSTALLDIR% as one variable
that already exists in the dropdown.
Yes, it is initialized (in line 49 of the script, by default) to what
[INSTALLDIR] is set to on the Product tab of General Information.
You can use multiple SetVariable items within an If-Then structure if you
need to conditionally set or modify a variable.

HTH

Jane

NewsArchive
06-08-2007, 02:24 AM
Hi Jane,

> (And Friedrich - the online help for that script item needs to be fixed.
> "Program Name" and "Program Descriptions" are not checkboxes! <VBG>)

Oops! Copy and paste issue <g>. I'll fix this, thank you.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner