PDA

View Full Version : SetupBuilder 5 Developer Edition (#1035) WebUpdate


NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:08 AM
[Wednesday, February 02, 2005 6:23 PM]

SetupBuilder 5 Developer (#1014, #1019, #1021, #1022, #1030, or #1033)
Users,

Please click "Check for Updates..." from within your SB5 IDE. The WebUpdate
process should patch your SB5 version to build 1035.

The full password protected install (code signed SB5 installer) is also
available: http://www.lindersoft.com/sb5/sb5_1035_Dev.exe

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

- SetupBuilder 5.0 Build 1035 February 2, 2005)

Features/Improvements/Fixes/Workaround/Changes/Notes:

FIX : The Ready to Install current settings list displayed a "&" in
the Setup Type string
FIX : Installer static background bitmap was not working as expected
FIX : Opening the SB5 Options... dialog changed the timestamp of all
registered language module files
FIX : Under certain circumstances it was not possible to set Debug
Mode to "Minimum" or "Full"
FIX : Possible IDE UNC path problem
FIX : Possible License Agreement radio button focus problem
CHANGE : Add improved code to handle connection closed by server events

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:08 AM
[Wednesday, February 02, 2005 7:22 PM]

Download smooth.
Bitmap works (you da man!)

Question - it seems the update downloads a small loader, then when that runs
it downloads the actual patches? If that's somehow interrupted, will it
resume later or does the user need to initiate the update again?

Jane

NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:09 AM
[Wednesday, February 02, 2005 8:20 PM]

Friedrich,

During the "Processing script..." phase, there is a very long pause. Like
about 1 minute on my machine. Is there a way to inform the developer as to
the progress? If not, then how about changing the message to:

"Processing script. This could take a few minutes. Please wait..."

--
Russ Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:09 AM
[Wednesday, February 02, 2005 11:43 PM]

Friedrich,

Updated using "Check for Updates" for SB5 Dev #1033 to #1035 - very smooth,
no problems or hesitation (Cable modem download - W2k PRO SP4)

David

NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:10 AM
[Thursday, February 03, 2005 4:27 AM]

Very Smooth!! especially with our T1 (10 sec)

Faron

NewsArchive
02-03-2005, 02:10 AM
[Thursday, February 03, 2005 8:31 AM]

Faron,

OK, rub it in! <g> HOWEVER, my guess is that awefully long 10 seconds it
took you was mainly due to mouse clicks getting through the prompts <g> as I
would guess-timate my smooth at 10.3 seconds <g>.

David

NewsArchive
02-05-2005, 09:22 AM
[Thursday, February 03, 2005 2:03 PM]

Hi Jane,

> Download smooth.
> Bitmap works (you da man!)

Thank you :)

> Question - it seems the update downloads a small loader, then when that
> runs it downloads the actual patches? If that's somehow interrupted,
> will it resume later or does the user need to initiate the update again?

The WebUpdate client downloads your latest small dynamic WebUpdate loader
(this includes your script logic, your own DLLs used in the script, etc.).
The WebUpdate loader retrieves just the pieces needed for the user's
specific requirements. For example, if one user already has the latest
sbuilder.exe installed (because I sent him a new sbuilder.exe "for test
purposes"), the installer is smart enough not to download this file again.

Once the download process completed (successfully), the installer "installs"
all files. If something goes wrong, the installer rolls-back the
installation.

To be on the safe side, the installer does not resume. You can start the
update process again at any time.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
02-05-2005, 09:23 AM
[Saturday, February 05, 2005 10:16 AM]

Russ,

I am working on this one now. Thank you!

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
www.lindersoft.com
Fax: 1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
02-07-2005, 07:07 AM
[Saturday, February 05, 2005 7:23 PM]

David,

It must have been the mouse clicks that took so long. Just had T1 installed
2 weeks ago and loving it. The major difference I see is the upload speed.
I don't see much difference in the download speed since using DSL.