PDA

View Full Version : Linder SetupBuilder



NewsArchive
11-02-2010, 10:08 AM
Hi all
We are using Linder SetupBuilder to create installation of our software.
Part of our software is created in C++ and C# and the code in the C# part is
using components not available in .NET Framework 3

Problem one is that many of our users are using WIndows XP and therfore
Framework 4 is out of the question
Problem two is that Setup Builder from Linder has not suport for FW3.5.
Atleast I cannot see it... I can set the SetupBuilder to require FW3.5, but
not ship the pre-requisits for it.

Any help here would be much appreciated..

regards
Ole

NewsArchive
11-02-2010, 10:08 AM
Ole,

> We are using Linder SetupBuilder to create installation of our software.
> Part of our software is created in C++ and C# and the code in the C# part
> is using components not available in .NET Framework 3
>
> Problem one is that many of our users are using WIndows XP and therfore
> Framework 4 is out of the question
> Problem two is that Setup Builder from Linder has not suport for FW3.5.
> Atleast I cannot see it... I can set the SetupBuilder to require FW3.5,
> but not ship the pre-requisits for it.
>
> Any help here would be much appreciated..

You can ship whatever you want with SetupBuilder!

There is no Core PreRequisite for the NET Framework 3.5 in SetupBuilder
because it is a hefty 200MB redistributable, that's all. Of course, you
can deploy it with SetupBuilder if you want. No problem at all!

Just download it from the Microsoft web site and install it from your
install.

http://download.microsoft.com/download/6/0/f/60fc5854-3cb8-4892-b6db-bd4f42510f28/dotnetfx35.exe

Does this help?

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:32 AM
Does this mean that we have to study your scripting engine etc. etc. ;-)

The way we use this software is:
1. Create Project
2. Add our EXE's and DLL's
3. Configure prereqs.
4. Compile Setup.EXE
5. Ship Program

as simple as that....

Roger Sundmyr

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:32 AM
> Does this mean that we have to study your scripting engine etc. etc. ;-)
>
> The way we use this software is:
> 1. Create Project
> 2. Add our EXE's and DLL's
> 3. Configure prereqs.
> 4. Compile Setup.EXE
> 5. Ship Program
>
> as simple as that....

Hehehe ;-) SetupBuilder comes with a "point-and-click" setup script
language. Very easy to use, and it gives you the ultimate power and
flexibility.

There are more than 10,000 redistributables available for all kind of
Windows versions and 3rd-party components. It would be impossible for us to
develop a Core PreRequisite for all available redistributable packages. A
"Core PreRequisite" is nothing more than the original redistributable file
(e.g. .NET Framework) and a runtime include script (.sbi). The SetupScript
language allows you to develop your own deployment logic to support all
available redistributables.

But I think we can simply modify the .NET Framework 3 runtime include script
to install 3.5. We'll try to check it this weekend. You can already
download the 200MB redist from Microsoft.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:33 AM
BTW, the size of the .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 redistributable is 231MB.

http://download.microsoft.com/download/2/0/e/20e90413-712f-438c-988e-fdaa79a8ac3d/dotnetfx35.exe

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:33 AM
Out of curiosity, why is framework 4 out of the question with XP?
MS Studio installed it here with no complaints...

Thanks
Ben Morehouse

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:33 AM
> Out of curiosity, why is framework 4 out of the question with XP?
> MS Studio installed it here with no complaints...

Perhaps they have only XP SP2 machines. The .NET Framework 4 requirement
for XP is Service Pack 3.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:34 AM
Ole,

> We are using Linder SetupBuilder to create installation of our software.
> Part of our software is created in C++ and C# and the code in the C# part
> is using components not available in .NET Framework 3
>
> Problem one is that many of our users are using WIndows XP and therfore
> Framework 4 is out of the question
> Problem two is that Setup Builder from Linder has not suport for FW3.5.
> Atleast I cannot see it... I can set the SetupBuilder to require FW3.5,
> but not ship the pre-requisits for it.
>
> Any help here would be much appreciated..

We have a .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 runtime include script for SetupBuilder 7
available now. We'll test it over the weekend on different machines.

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-06-2010, 02:35 AM
> We have a .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 runtime include script for SetupBuilder 7
> available now. We'll test it over the weekend on different machines.

Works fine. We'll make the include script available soon.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-07-2010, 02:18 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> But I think we can simply modify the .NET Framework 3 runtime include script
> to install 3.5. We'll try to check it this weekend. You can already
> download the 200MB redist from Microsoft.

One nifty thing in VS2010 (and I think also 2008, not sure) is that you can
create MSI files with it and specify the prerequisite, including the .NET
framework. VS2010 automatically checks .NET 4.0 which I didn't realize
until I created an install (for msm merge modules to be included in a SB
install:) and it started downloading .NET 4.0;) Not the best solution, but
if Ole has VS2010 hi might give it a whirl and see if it works:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
11-07-2010, 02:19 AM
Hi Arnór,

>> But I think we can simply modify the .NET Framework 3 runtime include
>> script to install 3.5. We'll try to check it this weekend. You can
>> already download the 200MB redist from Microsoft.
>
> One nifty thing in VS2010 (and I think also 2008, not sure) is that you
> can create MSI files with it and specify the prerequisite, including
> the .NET framework. VS2010 automatically checks .NET 4.0 which I didn't
> realize until I created an install (for msm merge modules to be included
> in a SB install:) and it started downloading .NET 4.0;) Not the best
> solution, but if Ole has VS2010 hi might give it a whirl and see if it
> works:)

You can also handle this with SetupBuilder if you want. No need to use
VS2010 <g>. SoftVelocity is doing it in the Clarion 7 install. If .NET
Framework 2 is not available, the installer downloads the Framework from the
server and installs it automatically.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-08-2010, 12:31 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> You can also handle this with SetupBuilder if you want. No need to use
> VS2010 <g>. SoftVelocity is doing it in the Clarion 7 install. If .NET
> Framework 2 is not available, the installer downloads the Framework from the
> server and installs it automatically.

Oh, sorry! You said "Of course, you can deploy it with SetupBuilder if you
want. No problem at all!

Just download it from the Microsoft web site and install it from your
install."

and I took it as you could not set it up as a pre-req in SB. I just noticed
this in VS2010 when I was testing an install that creates a msi from couple
of msm files from Crystal Reports XI for deployment. On my first test it
started downloading .NET 4.0. Don't know the size but it seemed pretty big
so I started investigating and found the pre-req in VS2010 install builder.
I'm REALLY glad I have SB and don't have to rely on VS2010 for installs<g>
but this one worked like a charm for what I needed:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
11-08-2010, 12:31 AM
Hi Arnór,

>> You can also handle this with SetupBuilder if you want. No need to use
>> VS2010 <g>. SoftVelocity is doing it in the Clarion 7 install. If .NET
>> Framework 2 is not available, the installer downloads the Framework from
>> the server and installs it automatically.
>
> Oh, sorry! You said "Of course, you can deploy it with SetupBuilder if
> you want. No problem at all!
>
> Just download it from the Microsoft web site and install it from your
> install."
>
> and I took it as you could not set it up as a pre-req in SB. I just
> noticed this in VS2010 when I was testing an install that creates a msi
> from couple of msm files from Crystal Reports XI for deployment. On my
> first test it started downloading .NET 4.0. Don't know the size but it
> seemed pretty big so I started investigating and found the pre-req in
> VS2010 install builder. I'm REALLY glad I have SB and don't have to
> rely on VS2010 for installs<g> but this one worked like a charm for
> what I needed:)

Thank you!!! :)

BTW, SetupBuilder has a built-in Core PreRequisite for .NET 4 (see attached
screenshot). But Ole needs 3.5 and this is a hefty 231MB redistributable.
That's why we do not make it available on our web site.

I have developed a runtime include script for .NET 3.5 now and will make it
available tomorrow.

Quick note: we plan to support a "MSM Merge Module Compiler" in SetupBuilder
7.5 (powered by our SBMSI compiler technology). This allows to convert
standard Windows Installer Merge Modules (.msm) into native Windows
Installer runtime deployment modules for SetupBuilder.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
11-08-2010, 12:34 AM
< BTW, SetupBuilder has a built-in Core PreRequisite for .NET 4 (see
attached
> screenshot).

Friedrich

NewsArchive
11-08-2010, 12:34 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> BTW, SetupBuilder has a built-in Core PreRequisite for .NET 4 (see attached
> screenshot). But Ole needs 3.5 and this is a hefty 231MB redistributable.
> That's why we do not make it available on our web site.

It looked like hte 4.0 download was pretty big, which is why I noticed it as
it was looking like it would take a while;) This was on a XP SP3 test VM (I
think it's SP3, could be SP2!) and I'm not sure what .NET it had on it.

> Quick note: we plan to support a "MSM Merge Module Compiler" in SetupBuilder
> 7.5 (powered by our SBMSI compiler technology). This allows to convert
> standard Windows Installer Merge Modules (.msm) into native Windows
> Installer runtime deployment modules for SetupBuilder.

Looking forward to it:) In the meantime, if you have VS2010, it is doable
with it. The installer doesn't look good, but it's better than nothing<g>

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
11-09-2010, 02:31 AM
Thanx alot. Appreciate it :-)

Ole

NewsArchive
11-11-2010, 12:51 AM
Ole,

>
> Thanx alot. Appreciate it :-)
>

Please see SetupBuilder NG or the following link:

http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?t=29111

The include script for .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 is available now.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows 7 installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner