PDA

View Full Version : 2 things



NewsArchive
12-11-2010, 01:23 AM
One... I can't seem to get my semi-automatic web updates to work in Vista or
Windows7 to work unless I turn off the UAC.. any hints or tips would be
appreciated.

Two... For safety reasons, when people download our demo I install it into
the wdeluxe folder. However, when they purchase it, we can turn the demo
into a real program with a code (over the phone), but we want to put it into
our normal folder, vmtvid. So, we usually just rename the folder, then fix
the shortcuts to match. So, then when they do web updates, it can't update
because the system registry is pointing to the wdeluxe folder, not the
vmtvid folder.

Is there a way to programatically change the registry to point to the right
folder, without completely reinstalling the software. In other words I'd
like to make an install that simply installs the shortcuts, renames the
folder, and updates the registry...

Thanks,

--
Ray Rippey
VMT Software - http://www.vmtsoft.com

NewsArchive
12-11-2010, 01:24 AM
1. What do you mean "semi-automatic"? If you're using the default
SetupBuilder web stuff, wupdate.exe does require run-as administrator (which
some user accounts may not be able to do). wucheck, on the other hand, does
not require UAC elevation. What exactly is the problem you're encountering?

2. If you look in a web update installer, you'll see it uses the "Detect
Previous Version" function to get the value of %_SB_INSTALLDIR%

The documentation for that function explains the registry key where that
information is stored (using your program's GUID that was specified when it
was originally installed).
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Uninstall\your-program's-installation-GUID.

Note that if you're looking using Windows Regedit.exe, on a 64-bit machine
you'll need to look inside the Wow6432Node to check the information.
In the installer you're talking about creating to modify the file path,
however, you will NOT specify Wow6432Node. (See the "64-Bit Registry
Gotcha" topic in "Learning SetupBuilder Part I".)

You'll also find that SB stores your installation path in
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lindersoft\WebUpdate\A ppPaths
(also subject to the Wow6432Node gotcha on 64-bit machines).

I think you'd want to change the path in both locations.

HTH

Jane

NewsArchive
12-11-2010, 01:24 AM
I'm wondering if I can make kind of a 'fake install', that just reinstalls
my shortcuts, copies everything from the wdeluxe folder to the vmtvid
folder, and install maybe one other file, and perhaps that will simply
overwrite the registry settings. Then I can just include the 'fake install'
program in my real install.. and have the user run that. Do you think that
has a chance of working... I only have to do this when I am changing the
demo to a real program.

As far as the update.... I say semi-automatic because the have to click on a
menu item. And it is using run, so I'll figure out how to do the
shellexecute like Arnor says, or perhaps I'll switch it to wucheck. I'm
using that already when my touch screen stuff is running.. that's all
automatic.. checks for an update, if available kills the program, then the
update reruns the program. But that is only running on XP machines.. I need
to see if that will work on my cheapo win7 machine with UAC on.

Thanks both for your help.

Ray
VMT

NewsArchive
12-11-2010, 01:25 AM
Hi Ray,

> One... I can't seem to get my semi-automatic web updates to work in Vista or
> Windows7 to work unless I turn off the UAC.. any hints or tips would be
> appreciated.

If you run wupdate.exe from your program and it is compile in Clarion 6.3 or
older, make sure that you are not starting wupdate.exe with the RUN
statement in Clarion. It will not work unless your program is elevated
(manifested with "requireAdmin") as RUN cannot handle it. Use
ShellExecuteEx to start wupdate.exe

Hope this helps:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com

Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
12-12-2010, 02:23 AM
Hey Ray,

Sure you can - I have been doing it for several years and it works great.

*Regards*,

Lee
www.cya2day.com