PDA

View Full Version : WebUpdate



NewsArchive
02-09-2005, 04:12 AM
[Tuesday, February 08, 2005 4:03 PM]

Is there any documentation, preliminary or otherwise about how to use
webupdate in our own installers?

I've looked through the wupdate.sb5 script and realise that that is what
I need to implement, but what files need to be generated and placed on
the server? Does SB5 generate these files itself each time I do a build
of my main install script or do I need to generate something by hand?

I would also like my application to be able to do an online check
directly. If there is an update then shelling out to wupdate.exe is not
a problem, but if my users want to check for an update every day I don't
want them to have to shell out then reload my application.

Many thanks.

--
Simon Craythorn

NewsArchive
02-09-2005, 04:13 AM
[Tuesday, February 08, 2005 4:46 PM]

Hi Simon,

>Is there any documentation, preliminary or otherwise about how to use
>webupdate in our own installers?

Great minds think alike - see my posting<g>

I can't even figure out where to start with this one;)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA

NewsArchive
02-09-2005, 04:13 AM
[Tuesday, February 08, 2005 5:54 PM]

Simon,

Please see "Web updates" thread.

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
08-09-2005, 08:06 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Here is a bit of a twist<g>

Yesterday I ran into a weird problem with a webupdate. Everything
looked good, but when I ran wupdate.exe it would show there was a more
recent version then start the download and immediately abort. No
error message or anything.

After a while I figured out what had happend: My Linux server is case
sensitive so MyFile.EXE is not the same as MyFile.exe or myfile.exe.
So when my INI told wupdate.exe to download "UpdateITDCT.exe" and the
file on the server was called "updateitdct.exe" wupdate.exe simply
aborted silently without any indication of what had gone wrong. My
error was of course to use the "Convert file names to lowercase"
option in Total Commander FTP copy window, which is my defauls
setting.

1. It would be nice to have a setting in the SB5 project to create
all web upload files in lower case and also generate the INI file
information, the "Setup=" entry as lowercase.

2. It would be nice if wupdate.exe gave some indication when it can't
download the install stub. I'm just using RUN('wupdate.exe') on this
so if there are command line parameters to make it pop up error
messages that would be nice.

3. It would be nice to have a command line that would turn on some
messages via OutputDebugString to be captured in DebugView or similar
for when things just go wrong for no apparent reason. For example in
my case if I had had DebugView running and it would have showed
something like "Can not download install stub, file not found" or
something, it would have given me an indication what the problem was.

4. It would be nice to have some info on this in the help.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com

NewsArchive
08-09-2005, 08:17 AM
Hi Arnór,

If you need lowercase output files you only have to make your [EXENAME]
lowercase. This should generate all your files in lower case.

BTW, you can always compile your own customized wupdate.exe (wupdate.sb5
source code is available). For example, if the download failed then
display your own message box. What do you think?

For example, we have this (line 141-143):

If %_SB_ERRORCODE% Equals "0" And %DOWNLOADUPDATE% Equals "$TRUE$" Then
Run Program %TMPDIR%\%HOST_UPDATEFILENAME% (Always Install)
End

Add something like that (I'll try to add this to the final build):


If %_SB_ERRORCODE% Not Equals "0" And %DOWNLOADUPDATE% Equals "$TRUE$"
Then
Message Box "Houston we have a problem"
Exit Installation
End

Installation message logging is already included but not "enabled" at
the moment.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
02-17-2006, 09:54 AM
I am missing something very basic I think

I click on the WEB tab and check Enable iDeploy Web Update. I give the
manifest name a .wup filename (myupdate.wup)

how do I create Webupdate.exe???
i cant find it anywhere

--
Eric Jacobowitz
www.castlecomputer.com

NewsArchive
02-17-2006, 09:54 AM
Hi Eric,

>how do I create Webupdate.exe???
>i cant find it anywhere

The source is in:

c:\Program Files\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 5 Developer\Redist\1033\

the exe is in:

c:\Program Files\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 5 Developer\Lib\

I did recompile the wupdate.sb5 for my own use (using a copy of
course!!!). I didn't change anything, just wanted to have my own
version of it;)

You distribute the wupdate.exe with your main install and then you run
it from your application. You can call it with parameters to let it
check for updates silently:

Run('wupdate.exe /C /S',1)
If RunCode() = 1
Message('New updates available')
Run('wupdate.exe')
Halt()
Else
Message('There are no new updates')
End

Note that I _think_ the '/C' and '/S' are case sensitive. I set the
webupdate install to optionally run the main exe when it's done, so
that the program restarts after the update.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
02-18-2006, 04:09 AM
I think Friedrich changed this so they are no longer case sensitive, but if
what you have works, don't go testing it <bg>.

--
Russ Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
02-18-2006, 04:09 AM
Hi Russ,

>I think Friedrich changed this so they are no longer case sensitive, but if
>what you have works, don't go testing it <bg>.

I _think_ he did, but I know the upper case works<g> I have a client
project where I use webupdate to do all updates, even SQL db updates
(with the help of my own program). It is soooo cool to be able to
just upload the updates to the ftp server and they can go grab the
updates. It just works!

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
02-18-2006, 04:09 AM
I am getting an error message
WebUpdate could not locate an associated application to update.


--
Eric Jacobowitz
www.castlecomputer.com

NewsArchive
02-18-2006, 04:10 AM
Hi Eric,

>I am getting an error message
>WebUpdate could not locate an associated application to update.

Make sure that you have the same GUID in both the main install and the
webupdate install. That is used in the registry to associate the
webupdate with the program. It is saying that it can't find any
program associated with the GUID if I'm not mistaken. Go to the
"General" tab on both the main install and the webupdate install and
check the PRODUCTGUID setting. It should be the same. If not, copy
the one from the main install into the webupdate install.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php