PDA

View Full Version : Script question



NewsArchive
01-22-2011, 01:09 AM
Is there anyway to put the following inside an 'IF' statement?

#set compiler variable [PRG_FLDR] = "<somefoldername>"

I have tried 'If' and '#If' but they seem to be ignored.

TIA,

Bob

NewsArchive
01-22-2011, 01:09 AM
Hi Bob,

It should go into the #IF statement if I'm not mistaken as #SET is a
Pre-Compiler directive.

Are you certain what you are evaluating contains what you expect for the
IF statement to work correctly?

*Regards*,

Lee
www.cya2day.com

NewsArchive
01-22-2011, 01:10 AM
As Lee indicates, Bob, you need to understand the difference between
compiler variables (evaluated when your script is compiled) and runtime
variables (evaluated at... er... runtime <g>)

I'd suggest reading through the sections shown in the screen shot from
"Learning SetupBuilder Part I"

Jane

NewsArchive
01-23-2011, 02:51 AM
Jane and Lee,

I am adding the #If which should be evaluated when the script is
compiled. Now that I know it should work, I will figure out what I am
doing wrong.

Thanks,

Bob

NewsArchive
01-23-2011, 02:51 AM
Well... I went back to my script and entered stuff exactly as I had
before, I think, and it worked.

Not sure what that means, but whatever.

What I was trying to do, and now have done, is write a script that will
add a Manifest, protect or compress, and CodeSign programs that are not
being included in an Installer.

Thanks,

Bob

NewsArchive
01-23-2011, 02:52 AM
Bob,

All that certainly needs to be done pre-compile. However, you have now
aroused my curiosity. Why are you doing all that if you aren't including
them in your installer. Inquiring minds want to know.

Glad you got it working....

*Regards*,

Lee
www.cya2day.com

NewsArchive
01-23-2011, 02:52 AM
> All that certainly needs to be done pre-compile.

Not true.

I have SetupBuilder add the manifest to the EXE, call Armadillo to protect
the EXE and then CodeSign it all within the script.

Just place those commands just before the [ Install Files ] section of the
script.

The actions are taken during the compile of the script (unless that is what
you were referring to as "pre-compile"<g>.

:-)

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds
www.clarionproseries.com - "Get ProPath, make your Clarion programs ready
for Windows 7 and Vista!"
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.pagesnip.com - "Print and Save the Web, just the way you want it!"
www.clarionproseries.com - "Serious tools for Clarion Developers"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
01-25-2011, 08:21 AM
Well Yuh......<g>

*Regards*,

Lee
www.cya2day.com

NewsArchive
01-25-2011, 08:22 AM
Lee,

I have a program that will clone a certain type of flash drive. I
suppose it did not need to be CodeSigned but it can't hurt.

If the cloning was halted, or wouldn't start, because Windows didn't
like my program, that would be bad.

Thanks again.

Bob

NewsArchive
01-25-2011, 08:22 AM
OK.... Makes sense

Thanks

*Regards*,

Lee
www.cya2day.com