PDA

View Full Version : How to see actual command line SB issues



NewsArchive
04-27-2011, 01:30 AM
I'm using the "Run Windows Installer" function and msiexec keeps complaining
about the command line. I've tried quite a few various combinations of how I
fill out the SB Run Windows Installer dialog but apparently I haven't hit on the
secret combination to get what I need. I can't find a way to actually see what
the command line SB is sending to msiexec is. It isn't in the event log, just
the returned error.

Is there a way to see exactly what command is being passed to msiexec in from
SB?

According to the vendor this is the command line I need (although I've tried
mixing it up every which way)[ignore line breaks]...

msiexec.exe /I "\\myServer\myFolder\Bartender v93\SI\BarTender.msi" /qn /L*v
"C:\Install.log" ADDLOCAL=BarTender,Fonts,OCRFonts,SymbolFonts PKC=
XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

I'm not sure if I'm filling out the SB dialog incorrectly or what since I can't
find a way to see what command SB is actually issuing.

Help!
Thanks!
Kelly E Major

NewsArchive
04-27-2011, 01:31 AM
Maybe you could build your command line as a string.

Display it in a message box.

Then use that string in the Run Windows Installer Command Line field when
you launch the MSI.

jf

NewsArchive
04-27-2011, 01:33 AM
Kelly,

> According to the vendor this is the command line I need (although I've
> tried mixing it up every which way)[ignore line breaks]...
>
> msiexec.exe /I "\\myServer\myFolder\Bartender v93\SI\BarTender.msi" /qn
> /L*v "C:\Install.log" ADDLOCAL=BarTender,Fonts,OCRFonts,SymbolFonts
> PKC=XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX
>
> I'm not sure if I'm filling out the SB dialog incorrectly or what since I
> can't find a way to see what command SB is actually issuing.

Assuming, your command line switches are correct. The above should
translate into something like this (see attached screenshot).

Hope this helps.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
04-28-2011, 12:05 AM
Friedrich,

I've tried that exact format several times. Is there any way to see exactly
what command SB is using to call msiexec? If not that would be very helpful to
have in the log. Same would apply to any SB "constructed" commands.

In the mean time I'm going to use an alternate method to accomplish this task.

Thanks!
Kelly E Major

NewsArchive
04-28-2011, 12:06 AM
Kelly,

> I've tried that exact format several times. Is there any way to see
> exactly what command SB is using to call msiexec? If not that would
> be very helpful to have in the log. Same would apply to any SB
> "constructed" commands.
>
> In the mean time I'm going to use an alternate method to accomplish this
> task.

It's very simple. The "Run Windows Installer" function automatically
launches "msiexec.exe".

Your command:

msiexec.exe /I "\\myServer\myFolder\Bartender v93\SI\BarTender.msi" /qn /L*v
"C:\Install.log" ADDLOCAL=BarTender,Fonts,OCRFonts,SymbolFonts PKC=
XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

translates into:

Start Parameter: /i

Installer Name: "\\myServer\myFolder\Bartender v93\SI\BarTender.msi"

Command Line: /qn /L*v "C:\Install.log"
ADDLOCAL=BarTender,Fonts,OCRFonts,SymbolFonts PKC=XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

This results in:

msiexec.exe /i "\\myServer\myFolder\Bartender v93\SI\BarTender.msi" /qn /L*v
"C:\Install.log" ADDLOCAL=BarTender,Fonts,OCRFonts,SymbolFonts PKC=
XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX

I have tested it here and it works fine and does not give any command line
switch error.

Of course, you can also try the "Run Command Line" function to build your
own complete command line.

HTH,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
04-28-2011, 12:06 AM
BTW, and %_SB_ERRORCODE% will give you the returned error code from the MSI
engine (if you have the 'Wait' option enabled).

Friedrichg