PDA

View Full Version : Create Shortcuts : multiple subfolders of "Programs"



NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:35 AM
Hi

Have always found this fiddly but am getting nowhere. It seems impossible to
create multiple folders off "Start Menu / Programs". Final intention is to
add if/end conditions but can't get to the starting point of several folders
containing shortcuts.

In a clean 'starter project', visit shortcut visualiser, right-click
StartMenu/Programs, Add Folder, take the default (New Folder 1). Return to
script editor:

[ Create Shortcuts ]
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 1" to "Programs\New Folder 1" (Always
Install)

Back to shortcut visualiser, right-click StartMenu/Programs, Add Folder,
take the default (New Folder 2). Return to script editor:

[ Create Shortcuts ]
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 1" to "Programs\New Folder 2" (Always
Install)
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 2" to "Programs\New Folder 2" (Always
Install)

That looks wrong? Also, from the Script Editor, double-clicking & saving the
'New folder 1' line changes things to:

[ Create Shortcuts ]
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 1" to "Programs\New Folder 1" (Always
Install)
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 2" to "Programs\New Folder 1" (Always
Install)

Double-clicking & saving the 'New folder 2' line changes things back to:

[ Create Shortcuts ]
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 1" to "Programs\New Folder 2" (Always
Install)
::Create Program Folder "New Folder 2" to "Programs\New Folder 2" (Always
Install)

At all times the visualiser looks OK

Shortcuts
+Start Menu
+Programs
+New Folder 1
+New Folder 2

And "details" of the lines look OK too ( Location: Programs).

But building and running the installer seems to reflect what's visible in
the Script Editor (i.e. just one folder is created).

Attaching example script (but it's just a 'starter' plus what's described
above).

I've done this in the past but am getting nowhere now. I've probably
forgotten something. Or has something changed?


Thanks

Simon


sb 7.4.3309 Professional

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:36 AM
Agreed.
Something is broken.

In addition to the behavior you describe, I tried adding a sub folder to
"New Folder 1" and it nonetheless was added to "New Folder 2".
And renaming shortcut folders or subfolders in the script editor affects
more than just the one you're editing.

jf

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:37 AM
> Agreed.
> Something is broken.
>
> In addition to the behavior you describe, I tried adding a sub folder to
> "New Folder 1" and it nonetheless was added to "New Folder 2".
> And renaming shortcut folders or subfolders in the script editor affects
> more than just the one you're editing.

Seems to be a regression :-( This worked fine in SB73, but is broken in
SB74.

I think the following fixed one bug and introduced a new one :-(

---
FIX : (sync from SB8) [SB#103231] IDE: Possible tree management issue
in the "Shortcuts" Visualizer.
---

Item in review.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:37 AM
No good deed goes unpunished!!! <g>

Jane Fleming

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:38 AM
>
> No good deed goes unpunished!!! <g>
>

<G>

Argh! I've no idea how this slipped through. It's not acceptable.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:38 AM
Hi Simon,

> I've done this in the past but am getting nowhere now. I've probably
> forgotten something. Or has something changed?

Hmmm, interesting. There is definitely something going wrong here. I have
opened a ticket, item in review.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:39 AM
> Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

And this is definitely a showstopper!

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

SetupBuilder is Windows installation -- "point. click. ship"

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
05-04-2011, 10:41 AM
I think we have fixed it in the latest internal source code. We'll re-test
the integration, and then do some more regression testing.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
05-06-2011, 01:02 AM
Fixed in 3313 for new projects.

But if I open the projects I played with yesterday when Simon reported the
bug, new sub-folders get created in the last created folder, regardless of
where I intend them to go.
Need to delete ALL existing shortcut folders in such a project and then
recreate them with the new version, at which point they work correctly.

jf

NewsArchive
05-06-2011, 01:03 AM
Jane,

>
> Fixed in 3313 for new projects.
>

Thanks for checking!

> But if I open the projects I played with yesterday when Simon reported the
> bug, new sub-folders get created in the last created folder, regardless of
> where I intend them to go.
> Need to delete ALL existing shortcut folders in such a project and then
> recreate them with the new version, at which point they work correctly.

Yes, very good point. I forgot to add a note to the release history :-(

The previous Build #3309 created an invalid Shortcut format structure and
the only way to fix this is to remove all Shortcut folders created in #3309.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
05-06-2011, 01:05 AM
All looks good here!

Thanks

Simon Kemp

NewsArchive
05-06-2011, 01:05 AM
>
> All looks good here!
>

Thank you, Simon!!!!

Friedrich