PDA

View Full Version : Code signing gone mad



NewsArchive
09-14-2011, 09:30 AM
This is probably not a SB problem but in my script I code sign 10 files. In
the middle of them is my main application exe

When I compile this code signing of the exe fails every single time error
code -1

It is using exactly the same parameters as every other file and the time
stamp url is identical to the others. The file is protected with Armadillo
as it always has been.

it is not locked or open.

Is there any reason why it fails code signing? Comment this out and all else
works flawlessly.

Got me beat.

TIA

John Fligg

NewsArchive
09-14-2011, 09:30 AM
> Is there any reason why it fails code signing? Comment this out and all
> else works flawlessly.

Yes, your firewall or anti-virus/spyware product seems to be buggy ;-) Try
to add the code-signing tool and the sb7.exe to your "exclusion list" to see
if this helps (e.g. to let Authenticode go through to the timestamp server).

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-14-2011, 09:31 AM
> (e.g. to let Authenticode go through to the timestamp server).

Ive seen some of these have to use a proxy. Makes no sense.
--

Mark Riffey
http://www.rescuemarketing.com/blog/
Now featured on the Visa Business Network
If Guy Kawasaki, the staff of the Wall Street Journal,
Fast Company, Marketing Profs & Business Week read it,
maybe you should too.

NewsArchive
09-14-2011, 09:31 AM
Sorry Friedrich - I don't agree.

I tested another 4 projects and they all signed the relevant exe's no
problem.

It is just this one exe and just wondered why one exe cannot be code signed.
All is in logical order - UAC/Armadillo/Code Sign.

And everything else is set up identically.

Thanks

john

NewsArchive
09-14-2011, 09:32 AM
> This is probably not a SB problem but in my script I code sign 10 files. In
> the middle of them is my main application exe
>
> When I compile this code signing of the exe fails every single time error
> code -1

John,

You are following this golden rule, right?

This order - UAC manifest - Armadillo protect - CodeSign EXE IS important!

David

--
From David Troxell - Encourager Software
Microsoft Forums NNTP Bridge - Instructions to use
http://profileexchanges.com/blog/?p=397

NewsArchive
09-15-2011, 12:52 AM
> Sorry Friedrich - I don't agree.
>
> I tested another 4 projects and they all signed the relevant exe's no
> problem.
>
> It is just this one exe and just wondered why one exe cannot be code
> signed. All is in logical order - UAC/Armadillo/Code Sign.
>
> And everything else is set up identically.

Even if they are identical, you never know why and when a heuristic
anti-virus block mechanism kicks in <g>.

Try to put that specific .exe (and the Authenticode tool and sb7.exe) to
your exclusion list to see if this helps.

Unfortunately, I can't tell you why the Microsoft Authenticode tool can't
sign your .exe.

Another quick idea: as a simple test, do not let the compiler code-sign that
UAC-embedded and Armadillo protected .exe and use the SignCode.exe wizard
with the same parameters to code-sign the .exe. Perhaps it will give you a
human readable error text. But if this process does not fail then you have
the proof that it's caused by your over-protective "security software"

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-15-2011, 12:52 AM
Actually 2 things.

1. My antvirus software does not allow you to exclude Program Files exe's. I
am using McAfee.
2. I found it. I think the file was locked. It was not running and
everything pointed to it being OK. But I then recompiled in Clarion and has
been working since. I think something was holding on to it and I had to
recompile it to get rid of whatever it was.

Thanks

John

NewsArchive
09-15-2011, 12:53 AM
Hi John,

> Actually 2 things.
>
> 1. My antvirus software does not allow you to exclude Program Files exe's.
> I am using McAfee.
> 2. I found it. I think the file was locked. It was not running and
> everything pointed to it being OK. But I then recompiled in Clarion and
> has been working since. I think something was holding on to it and I had
> to recompile it to get rid of whatever it was.

Thanks for the update.

BTW, I think McAfee added "file exclusion" to their latest version:

https://community.mcafee.com/message/92432

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-23-2011, 12:31 AM
In the last two days I started getting this exact error message too, and I
couldn't figure out why.... ah, then looked at my certificate, it expired
9/18/2011

Ooops! Time for a new one! I wish they would send you an email and remind
you that this is about to expire.

-- brent