PDA

View Full Version : Adding by wildcard



NewsArchive
08-27-2007, 02:42 AM
Hi Friedrich,

There is a question at the end - but first... The story;)

In certain circumstances where I may be adding several files in each
build, I'd like to just add everything from a folder into a folder in
the install. So I discorvered the wildcard option and I've cut one of
my unruly install scripts from installing 100+ files in 6 folders,
i.e. 100+ lines in the script, down to 6 *.* "Install File" lines!
Awsome! Since this is standard 3rd party install, now I can just add
those 6 lines to pretty much all my installs, adjust the source
folders and off I go:)

Since I always build each version in a folder called Latest under
C:\Products\ProductName\ all I need to do now is copy the appropriate
files to the right folders under "Latest" and recompile!

Of course there are certain files that need special attention and are
installed spearately, but this takes care of a LOT of files and a LOT
of headaches!

Question: Can I use a compiler variable to specify the source
location? I.e.

C:\Products\[PRODUCTLOCATION]\Latest\3rdParty\LibSrc

The Right-Click does not work in the "Source Folder" entry...<g>

Best regards

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-27-2007, 02:43 AM
Hi Arnór,

;-)

Yes, you can use compiler variables in the "Source Folders" field (File
Properties).

C:\Products\[PRODUCTLOCATION]\Latest\3rdParty\LibSrc should work without any
problem.

I'll try to make the Right-Click in the File Properties available in the
next build :)

Friedrich

NewsArchive
08-27-2007, 02:44 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>C:\Products\[PRODUCTLOCATION]\Latest\3rdParty\LibSrc should work without any
>problem.

AWSOME! That means I can include a script that does ALL of this stuff
for me:)

>I'll try to make the Right-Click in the File Properties available in the
>next build :)

Cool!

Now... Future versions<g> Will there be a way to automate the
scripting part, with external scripts or something like that? I.e. be
able to use an XML file to instruct the compiler to include this or
include that, settings etc. etc. basically build up a script and then
fire off the compiler to compile it?

I'm seeing an option to do almost completely dynamic installs where I
don't create SB project, but rather instruct the compiler externally
what to do, or can build my own project on the fly.

What is your vision for this in the future?

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-28-2007, 01:47 AM
Hi Arnor,

I know Friedrich already answered your question but here are a few lines from
one of my installs that does this:

Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Backup\ReadMe.txt" to
"%DATAPATH%\Backup\ReadMe.txt" (Always Install)
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Default\*.tps" to
"%DATAPATH%\Default\*.tps" (Always Install) [Never Replace]
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Default\ReadMe.txt" to
"%DATAPATH%\Default\ReadMe.txt" (Always Install)
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Forms\*.*" to "%DATAPATH%\Forms\*.*"
(Always Install)
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Reports\*.*" to
"%DATAPATH%\Reports\*.*" (Always Install)
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Sample\ReadMe.txt" to
"%DATAPATH%\Sample\ReadMe.txt" (Always Install)
Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Sample\*.tps" to
"%DATAPATH%\Sample\*.tps" (Always Install)

Since I use the same folder structure for all of my products, this makes it
easy. One thing I have found is that when you first add the compiler variable
to the source path, SB doesn't show the size of the files. Once you have
compiled once, and SB knows how to evaulate the path, it shows sizes
normally.

Peter Gysegem
Beaver Creek Software

NewsArchive
08-28-2007, 01:50 AM
Hi Peter,

>Install File "[PRODUCTPATH]\Install\Data\Sample\*.tps" to
>"%DATAPATH%\Sample\*.tps" (Always Install)
>
>Since I use the same folder structure for all of my products, this makes it
>easy. One thing I have found is that when you first add the compiler variable
>to the source path, SB doesn't show the size of the files. Once you have
>compiled once, and SB knows how to evaulate the path, it shows sizes
>normally.

This is similar to what I have. I use C:\Products as the base folder,
then a product folder and Latest for the latest build. When I create
a new build, I copy the Latest to a folder called "Version whatever"
so I always have a backup of older version. Example:

C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\Version 2.400
C:\Products\ITUtilities\Latest
C:\Products\ITUtilities\Latest\Version 0.9100

Each Latest folder contains all the files in the install, except
global files, such as my post-installer exe etc. So right now my
standard tree looks like this:


C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Docs\[PRODUCTNAME]
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Examples\[PRODUCTNAME]
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Images
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Lib
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\LibSrc
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Template
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Tools\ITIn stall
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\Bin
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\Lib
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\LibSrc

Now I have all of those folders set up in a standard install using *.*
and it all seems to work great:)

Best regards,



Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php