PDA

View Full Version : Register pending Clarion templates



NewsArchive
08-29-2007, 02:00 AM
Hi Friedrich,

I ran into an issue with this. I had added this to my include script
that I include at the end of the script, before the final wizard loop.
When I set a template in my main install to be registered, the
"Register all pending Clarion templates" is added to the main install
script, which is correct, but I also had it in my include script.

This caused a problem as it would run the Clarion IDE twice and
register the template. No problem there really except when I opened a
demo app in the instance on top it trashed the registry file since it
was already opened locked by the other instance.

So: Would it be possible, once the registration is complete, to
_remove_ the templates from the pending queue in the script so that if
there is another statement to register the templates, then the queue
is empty and it doesn't attempt to run the IDE again?

What I did was I removed the register statement from my install script
and that took care of it:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-29-2007, 02:01 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>What I did was I removed the register statement from my install script
>and that took care of it:)

Still having problems with this. It seems that if Clarion is running
and the install registers templates it runs a second instance even if
the IDE is running. So I pop up a message at the start of the install
to warn about closing the darn IDE before installing.

Note that this is on Vista and I wonder if there is something that
prevents the SB script from detecting that the IDE is running???

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-29-2007, 02:02 AM
Hi Arnór,

The installer requires that the Clarion IDE is not running!

BTW, the following code can be used to find out whether the Clarion IDE is
active:

Set Variable %C6IDE_ACTIVE% to FUNCTION : Detect Active Application(c60srvx.exe)

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
08-30-2007, 09:08 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>The installer requires that the Clarion IDE is not running!
>
>BTW, the following code can be used to find out whether the Clarion IDE is
>active:
>
>Set Variable %C6IDE_ACTIVE% to FUNCTION:Detect Active
>Application(c60srvx.exe)

Thanks. Will implement that in future installs. Right now I just pop
up a message at the beginning to tell the user to close Clarion.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-30-2007, 09:09 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>The installer requires that the Clarion IDE is not running!
>
>BTW, the following code can be used to find out whether the Clarion IDE is
>active:

WHY is this not done automatically by the "Register Pending Clarion
Templates" as it poses a serious risk of destroying the registry file?

Since it requires the IDE not to be running and if it is running it
will corrupt the registry file this should be done by the install
automatically, rather than risk corrupting the registry.

There is nothing in the help about this and no warning or anything
that implies that the script requires additional code to make this
work properly. There are no remarks in the "Register Clarion Chain"
topic about this problem, and there definitely should be.

IMO the "register pending Clarion templates" has a _serious bug_ in it
since it allows the IDE to run when it's already running, and by doing
so risks _removing_ every single registered template from the
registry!

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
08-30-2007, 09:10 AM
Hi Arnór,

>>The installer requires that the Clarion IDE is not running!
>>
>>BTW, the following code can be used to find out whether the Clarion IDE is
>>active:
>
> WHY is this not done automatically by the "Register Pending Clarion
> Templates" as it poses a serious risk of destroying the registry file?

Unfortunately, it cannot be done automatically. The 16-bit IDE detection
procedure is different for each and every Clarion version.

> Since it requires the IDE not to be running and if it is running it
> will corrupt the registry file this should be done by the install
> automatically, rather than risk corrupting the registry.
>
> There is nothing in the help about this and no warning or anything
> that implies that the script requires additional code to make this
> work properly. There are no remarks in the "Register Clarion Chain"
> topic about this problem, and there definitely should be.
>
> IMO the "register pending Clarion templates" has a _serious bug_ in it
> since it allows the IDE to run when it's already running, and by doing
> so risks _removing_ every single registered template from the
> registry!

Well, the Welcome installer dialog says "It is strongly recommended that
you exist all Windows programs yadayada" <g>

This template procedure goes back to SetupBuilder 3.51 (1999). I think
multiple C6 instances (and the template registry problem) are only
possible if "multi-user development" is checked.

I'll add a note to the documentation on how to detect an open C6 IDE.

Just for the records, this was:

Set Variable %C6OPEN% to FUNCTION:Detect Active Application(c60srvx.exe)
If %C6OPEN% Equals "1" Then
Display Message Box "Clarion 6 is still active. Please close yada"
End

The above code can be used in a Loop to make sure the user terminated
Clarion.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
08-30-2007, 09:11 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>> WHY is this not done automatically by the "Register Pending Clarion
>> Templates" as it poses a serious risk of destroying the registry file?
>
>Unfortunately, it cannot be done automatically. The 16-bit IDE detection
>procedure is different for each and every Clarion version.

Hmm... Yeah, I can see that... This is a tricky one. I think I'll
just leave my message as it is, at least that way there is a pretty
noticable warning. Rather than chase down each of the SRVX.dll for
the different versions, I'll just leave the message:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Creative, Inc.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com


Subscribe to information from Icetips.com:
http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php