PDA

View Full Version : Multiple update servers



NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:00 AM
Friedrich,

Building an app that will do self updating. I'd like to be able to use two
servers to get the updates from in case one goes down. The user won't see the
switch if that is the case. Does SB support something like this? An examples if
so?

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype IRC: http://tinyurl.com/2mqr2j

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:00 AM
Hi Russ,

Not in the current version, but interesting idea. I'll give it some
thoughts!

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 6.5
Create Windows Vista ready installations in minutes

-- Official Comodo Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:01 AM
Thanks!

And while you are at it, we came up with another one:

When the install happens, the defaults will be to the Vista standard, meaning it
will work on non-Vista machines too. But it would be nice to take the default
(or user changed) destination folder for the data and stuff that into a TPS file.
I suppose I would write a simple EXE to do that (command line parameters?) so the
configuration file mirrors the install path exactly, even it the user decided to
change it. Or does SB have a function to write to a TPS file?

Of course, if this is an SQL install, no worries there as its simple enough to
write an SQL script that could execute as part of the install. I say "simple"
now as I've not yet tried that <g>.

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype IRC: http://tinyurl.com/2mqr2j

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:01 AM
Hi Russ,

You can create a small Clarion project that compiles a DLL and then call
into that DLL from the installer to write to TPS files. Such a DLL would
give you much more control over this process than an EXE. BTW, you can do
whatever you want in such a DLL to "extend" the installer functionality!

What do you think?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:02 AM
That is pretty much what I thought. Is there an example of parameter passing
from a SB variable to an external DLL? That should work a treat if so.

--
Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com
Skype IRC: http://tinyurl.com/2mqr2j

NewsArchive
09-04-2007, 02:02 AM
Hi Russ,

There are some DLL source code examples in the Examples package.

Use whatever you want or need ;-) For example:

CALLTHISFUNCTION1(LONG, *CSTRING),LONG,PASCAL
CALLTHISFUNCTION2(*CSTRING),LONG,PASCAL
CALLTHISFUNCTION3(),LONG,PASCAL
CALLTHISFUNCTION4(*CSTRING,*CSTRING,*CSTRING),LONG ,PASCAL
And so on and so on... <g>

Just let me know if you need help.

Friedrich