PDA

View Full Version : I need to wait 3 seconds



NewsArchive
01-07-2012, 03:14 AM
Hello,

I have my program calling the installer. The installer runs so fast that
the calling program has no time to shut-down, so it says it needs a reboot.
I need to simply wait 3 seconds.

RUN('crs_update.exe /S /Q')
Do ProcedureRETURN

In my script, I'd like to simply have it wait 3 seconds before the [Install
Files] just to make sure the above program is completely closed down.

I don't want any dialogs because I am doing this automatically at night with
/S /Q

Thank you.

NewsArchive
01-07-2012, 03:15 AM
I see it now ... I was looking for WAIT -- when I should have looked for
SLEEP.

There is nothing Setup Builder can't do!

-Robert

NewsArchive
01-07-2012, 03:15 AM
even offer free subscriptions!

--
JP
__________________________________________________ _____

For those who do not understand ... : "Qui bene amat bene castigat."
__________________________________________________ _____

DMC - Data Management Center : a tool to let you Migrate Import Export
Transfer your Data
www.dmc-fr.com

NewsArchive
01-07-2012, 03:16 AM
Robert,

Have you ever tried seeing if the program is running? Just add the Detect Active
Application function. This works perfectly for me:

Loop
Set Variable %PIMAINACTIVE% to FUNCTION:Detect Active Application("PIMain.EXE")
[File Name]
If %PIMAINACTIVE% Equals "1" Then
Display Message Box "PI SQL is still running. Please save your work
an..." -- "PI SQL Main is still running"
Else
Put INI Value(PIMain, Updated, 1) to "c:\MiscUpdate.ini"
Break Loop
End
End

Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
01-07-2012, 03:16 AM
That seems like a more reliable way, and is also how we do it.

What if someone has a slow machine? SLEEP might not be the right
amount of time.

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve