PDA

View Full Version : SB 7.6.3576 install crashes



NewsArchive
01-25-2012, 01:57 AM
Hi Friedrich,

No idea what has gone wrong. I started with a copy of an install that I
made modifications to, including adding 3 compiler variables and using them
in various places for a more generic install script. There are no errors
posted during compilation, but a few warning about "Wildcard queue is empty"
where it's attempting to pull in files that haven't been added to the source
folders yet. But when I run the install, it crashes immediately with
0x00000005 at address 0x0...01002d943. The original script compiles and
runs without problems. The "Enable Installer Integrity Check" is checked
and there are no errors reported. This happens immediately when it runs.
If I use a "Installer Background" then the background shows, but not the
text on the background.

What is the best approach to start to debug this? I've spent several hours
on this script and I'm not sure if it's better to try to backtrack my
changes until it compiles or start over with the original script?

At any rate, I'm saving the whole project right now to a backup folder in
case you would want to take a peek at it. Just let me know:) NB: I don't
think I have ever seen a SB compiled install crash before, so I must have
messed something up really good this time!<bg>

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php
https://twitter.com/#!/Icetips -
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Icetips-Alta-LLC/177947342793

NewsArchive
01-25-2012, 01:58 AM
Hi Arnór,

Can you try event logging (setup.exe /E) and post the .log?

And if possible, can you send the "original" .sb7, the "modified" .sb7 and
the .exe that crashes?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:21 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> Can you try event logging (setup.exe /E) and post the .log?

This is all I get:

|01/25/2012|07:48:50.632|Logging started: c:\Products\ITRuntime\Latest\ITRuntime\ITRuntime_i nstall.exe
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.647|Resource: sbside.bmp->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB62B.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.647|Resource: sbtop.bmp->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB62C.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.647|Resource: 0001.lib->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB62D.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.663|Resource: 0003.lib->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB62E.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.663|Resource: 0009.lib->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB62F.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.679|Resource: 0015.lib->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB630.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.679|Resource: ubin3.tmp->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB632.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.679|Resource: ubin5.tmp->C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\~SB633.tmp
|01/25/2012|07:48:50.694|Set Variable {SELLNG} to 1033

This variable name, SELLNG, does not exist in the script but perhaps this is
an internal variable.

> And if possible, can you send the "original" .sb7, the "modified" .sb7 and
> the .exe that crashes?

See your email:) I think all the files in the installs are there, I also
added the .sbi files and think they are all there as well. The original sb7
script is there too.

Let me know if you need anything else!

Hope this helps:)

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:22 AM
Hi Arnór,

After your:

|01/25/2012|07:48:50.694|Set Variable {SELLNG} to 1033

we should see:

|XX/XX/XXXX|XX:XX:XX:XXX|InitScriptBegin

So it crashes before the scripting engine is even initialized.

I'll use your project (received, thank you!) to see what is going on.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:22 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> So it crashes before the scripting engine is even initialized.
>
> I'll use your project (received, thank you!) to see what is going on.

Yep. I put a Message() at the beginning of the script and it crashes before
it is executed.

Hope you figure it out:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:22 AM
Hi Arnór,

Can you do me a favour? Can you please comment-out all "Install File(s)"
functions and recompile and launch. Does it still crashes at starup?

Are you using the very same custom DLL in that project or is it a modified
DLL?

There must be something in your project that causes it. But at the moment,
I don't know what it is.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:23 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> Can you do me a favour? Can you please comment-out all "Install File(s)"
> functions and recompile and launch. Does it still crashes at starup?
>
> Are you using the very same custom DLL in that project or is it a modified
> DLL?
>
> There must be something in your project that causes it. But at the moment,
> I don't know what it is.

Commenting out all the "install file" thing makes no difference.

DLLs are the same. I commented out everything in the script that I could
without it throwing errors, same thing.

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:23 AM
Hi Arnór,

> DLLs are the same. I commented out everything in the script that I could
> without it throwing errors, same thing.

Found it. It's your Eula.rtf. I can reproduce the GPF with your Eula.
When I replace it with another one than it does not crash!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:24 AM
Hi Arnór,

> Found it. It's your Eula.rtf. I can reproduce the GPF with your Eula.
> When I replace it with another one than it does not crash!

Not sure what is wrong with that "Eula.rtf" file, but the Clarion IDE only
displays the following (see attached screenshot) when I open it. And even
with the Visual Studio IDE, it takes 4 seconds to open it as text file.
Perhaps a combination of "hidden" characters? I don't know. But whatever
it is, the file can't be processed.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:26 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> Found it. It's your Eula.rtf. I can reproduce the GPF with your Eula.
> When I replace it with another one than it does not crash!

Rats! I remember - I had this problem with the BA install few months
ago!!!!

See:

From: "Arnor Baldvinsson (Icetips)"
Subject: SB install crashes when it loads
Date: 3 Nov 2011 21:57:12 -0400

Thanks man!

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:26 AM
Hi Arnór,

>> Found it. It's your Eula.rtf. I can reproduce the GPF with your Eula.
>> When I replace it with another one than it does not crash!
>
> Rats! I remember - I had this problem with the BA install few months
> ago!!!!
>
> See:
>
> From: "Arnor Baldvinsson (Icetips)"
> Subject: SB install crashes when it loads
> Date: 3 Nov 2011 21:57:12 -0400
>
> Thanks man!

It's a very interesting problem. I played with your Eula, modified it and
have a reproducable buffer overrun error now. I'll debug the source code
(compiler and runtime) to see what is going wrong. There is definitely a
bug somewhere...

Thanks for the files!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-26-2012, 01:27 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> It's a very interesting problem. I played with your Eula, modified it and
> have a reproducable buffer overrun error now. I'll debug the source code
> (compiler and runtime) to see what is going wrong. There is definitely a
> bug somewhere...
>
> Thanks for the files!

Welcome! I hope you can find some pattern in this at compile time so you
can detect this and throw an error at compile time. Those file are from the
same source (attorney) and I copied the text from a web page (he also sent
them as emails) and then past them into Word. I _think_ I copy pasted from
Word to WordPad rather than saved to RTF from Word, just don't remember...
It's possible that I saved from Word and that there is some discrepancy in
the RTF between WordPad and Word 2007...

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-27-2012, 12:41 AM
Hi Arnór,

> Welcome! I hope you can find some pattern in this at compile time so
> you can detect this and throw an error at compile time. Those file
> are from the same source (attorney) and I copied the text from a web
> page (he also sent them as emails) and then past them into Word. I
> _think_ I copy pasted from Word to WordPad rather than saved to RTF
> from Word, just don't remember... It's possible that I saved from
> Word and that there is some discrepancy in the RTF between WordPad
> and Word 2007...

Fixed now! Your EULA.rtf does not crash the installer any longer. It was
caused by a buffer overrun in the installer runtime :-(

---
FIX : (sync from SB8) [SB#201251] Installer: A text resource item
>5,196 bytes resulted in a buffer overrun error.
---

Thanks again!

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-27-2012, 12:42 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> Fixed now! Your EULA.rtf does not crash the installer any longer. It was
> caused by a buffer overrun in the installer runtime :-(
>
> ---
> FIX : (sync from SB8) [SB#201251] Installer: A text resource item
> >5,196 bytes resulted in a buffer overrun error.

Awsome!

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-27-2012, 12:42 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> Fixed now! Your EULA.rtf does not crash the installer any longer. It was
> caused by a buffer overrun in the installer runtime :-(

So what do I need to do to the current EULA.rtf to make it work in the build
I have? I'd really like to get this stitched together soon;)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-27-2012, 12:42 AM
Hi Arnór,

> So what do I need to do to the current EULA.rtf to make it work in the
> build I have? I'd really like to get this stitched together soon;)

To use your EULA.rtf in the current build (or in any previous one), you have
to make sure that no line is > 5,196 bytes. The function that handles the
text resources causes a buffer overrun if the text line is too long.

This will be fixed in the next maintenance build.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:06 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> To use your EULA.rtf in the current build (or in any previous one), you have
> to make sure that no line is > 5,196 bytes. The function that handles the
> text resources causes a buffer overrun if the text line is too long.

Great! Is that each RTF line or each line in the raw text? There can be
considerable difference due to the RTF encoding...

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:06 AM
Hi Arnór,

> Great! Is that each RTF line or each line in the raw text? There can
> be considerable difference due to the RTF encoding...

It's each line in the raw text.

BTW, what's your deadline? If you are interested, I can compile a
"development build" for you tomorrow and send you two new files (sb7.exe and
sbkernel.lib) to fix it.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:06 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> It's each line in the raw text.

Thanks - I have a couple that are > the magic number.

> BTW, what's your deadline? If you are interested, I can compile a
> "development build" for you tomorrow and send you two new files (sb7.exe and
> sbkernel.lib) to fix it.

That would be appreciated:)

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:07 AM
Hi Arnór,

>
> That would be appreciated:)
>

I'll send it to your private email address tomorrow :)

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:08 AM
Hi Friedrich,

> I'll send it to your private email address tomorrow :)

Thanks:) Maybe I'll have my hardware problems fixed up by then!!!

Best regards,

--
Arnór Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC
Port Angeles, Washington
www.icetips.com - www.buildautomator.com - www.altawebworks.com
Icetips product subscriptions at http://www.icetips.com/subscribe.php

NewsArchive
01-28-2012, 03:08 AM
Oh sure! You always did like Arnor best! <g>

I can wait till Monday - my RTFs are clean! <bg>

Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
01-29-2012, 08:00 AM
Hi Arnór,

>
> Thanks:) Maybe I'll have my hardware problems fixed up by then!!!
>

I really hope so :)

Here is the RTF hotfix:

http://www.lindersoft.com/publicdownloads/KB201251.exe

Does this fix your EULA problem?

Thanks,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-29-2012, 08:01 AM
Russ,

> Oh sure! You always did like Arnor best! <g>
>
> I can wait till Monday - my RTFs are clean! <bg>

<VBG> ;-)

Okay, then here we go. Let us test the SetupBuilder "hot-fixing" patch
feature. If you are interested, please download:

http://www.lindersoft.com/publicdownloads/KB201251.exe

This delta-patch will magically fix the RTF bug. The SetupBuilder compiler
generates a cool ultra-small 200 KB patch that provides all the patch
distribution logic, including "smart-rollback" to rollback the patch if you
want.

If you have installed SetupBuilder Developer Edition 7.6 Build 3576
(licensed version), then the patch will update your SetupBuilder to "Build
3581" and the bug is fixed.

And what if you would like to rollback that patch? No problem -- in the
SetupBuilder 7 Start Menu folder, select "Rollback SetupBuilder 7 to Build
7.6.3576.0" and the uninstall will rollback the patch. But there is no need
to rollback because the patch is "upwards" compatible ;-)

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-29-2012, 08:02 AM
Some technical backgrounds. The patch updates three files and includes all
the distribution and uninstall logic. The SetupBuilder compiler generates a
small delta update (binary patch). This reduces the distribution overhead
from 5,000 KB to 200 KB.

I think we need a Webinar to cover all the hidden SetupBuilder features.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
01-29-2012, 08:02 AM
Yes please!

Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com

NewsArchive
01-29-2012, 08:03 AM
Seems to work. Even detected SB7 running.

Russell B. Eggen
www.radfusion.com