PDA

View Full Version : compile by command line



NewsArchive
03-27-2012, 08:43 AM
hey,

question:

Is it possible if an error occurs on the Command Line function to
display them in a dialog?

Problem is, we create a setup - error - but see no info.


Best regards

Dirk

NewsArchive
03-27-2012, 08:43 AM
Dirk,

> question:
>
> Is it possible if an error occurs on the Command Line function to display
> them in a dialog?
>
> Problem is, we create a setup - error - but see no info.

That is the expected behavior. It would be suboptimal if you created
nightly builds on a server and an administrator had to press an "OK" button
to continue with the build process. Customers are using the command line
compiler to build 1,000+ completely automated nightly builds on servers.
The build automation tool processes the compiler.txt file to handle error
detection.

Please see "Command Line Options (Compiler)" in the F1 online help or PFD
manual.

"A compiler.txt file is created if there was a compile error. The log file
is located in C:\Documents and Settings\<user>\Application
Data\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 7."

Just process this file or use a build automation tool. For example:

http://www.buildautomator.com/

BTW, you can use the /L command line switch to override the "default" folder
location of compiler.txt.

Hope this helps.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-27-2012, 08:44 AM
Yes, see BuildAutomator from icetips

--
Dan Scott
C55 - C6.3 Legacy
Garage Partner Pro / Invoice Partner
www.garagepartner.com
Plan A is always more effective when the device you are working on
understands that Plan B involves a larger hammer

NewsArchive
03-28-2012, 01:32 AM
hmmm ....

I only need a Command Line Function e.g. /E for display error message ;)
I see no advantage at the moment with the buildautomator.

Dirk

NewsArchive
03-28-2012, 01:46 AM
A compile.bat batch file similar to the following can do it:

---

"C:\Program Files\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 7 Developer\sb7.exe" /CS
"c:\sbtest\galedon.sb7" /CV TEST1 "AAAAAAAAAA" /CV TEST2 "BBBBBBBBBB"

@ECHO OFF
IF %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto NOERROR
IF NOT %ERRORLEVEL% == 0 goto ERROR

:NOERROR
ECHO Error free compilation
GOTO End

:ERROR
ECHO Error occured during script compilation
GOTO End

:END

---

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-14-2012, 12:58 AM
A very very big problem arises from the lack of possibility of error
messages can't be correctly!

If the functions "Process after script compilation process" are included
in the script, they are command line by not reported as an error if
these do not work!

One could also say that each script is flying blind.

Dirk Büchel

NewsArchive
06-14-2012, 02:39 AM
Dirk,

> A very very big problem arises from the lack of possibility of error
> messages can't be correctly!
>
> If the functions "Process after script compilation process" are included
> in the script, they are command line by not reported as an error if these
> do not work!
>
> One could also say that each script is flying blind.

What you can do is to handle it similar to this:

#copy file "x:\v\dummy.txt" to "x:\x\dummy.txt"
#ifdef SB_ERROR Does Not Equal "0" Then
#msg "Ouch! Fatal error."
#halt(123)
#end

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-14-2012, 02:40 AM
No, wait. This only works if "Process after script compilation process" is
not enabled.

So in fact, after compilation processes can't handle errors (yet).

Friedrich