PDA

View Full Version : Hardware restrictions that are not quite accurate



NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:03 AM
Having a bit of a problem trying to ensure that a .NET project has
sufficient RAM to run in a POS system.

I set SB to demand 256Mb, but I received the following back from the
techie/installer"

"Both POS has a 256Mb RAM in it, but on their Windows System screen, one is
showing 240Mb of RAM, and the other showing 248Mb of RAM. These 2 POS are
virtually not much different to each other in RAM sizes.
As we know, even the RAM is 256Mb, but when it show on the PC system, it
will tell you it is lesser.
Perhaps you should lower the RAM requirement down to, say 235MB within the
installer"

Grumblingly <g>, I went to comply - but I can't see how to do so without
setting a too-low limit of 128Mb.

No user-input option??

Steve

NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:05 AM
Steve,

The installer retrievs the value via the GlobalMemoryStatusEx Windows API
and that function always reports the correct memory value ;-)

If I were you, I would use the "Get System Info (Memory Status)" script
function because it gives you more control.

HTH,
Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:06 AM
Similar to this:

Set Variable %MEMORY% to FUNCTION:Get System Info(Memory Status) for
"$MEM_TOTALPHYS$"

If %MEMORY% Less Than "235" Then
Display Message Box "Not enough memory yada..." -- ""
Exit Installation()
End

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:06 AM
I'll give it a go....

(.. a combo box on the SB hardware setup would be a short-cut <g>)

Tx

Steve Bywaters

NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:07 AM
Best placed in "Initialise Setup" area?

Steve Bywaters

NewsArchive
06-18-2012, 02:07 AM
> Best placed in "Initialise Setup" area?
>

Yes, I handle it in the [ Initialize Setup ] section (see attached
screenshot).

Friedrich