PDA

View Full Version : Using the SKU wizard



NewsArchive
05-16-2013, 12:39 AM
Friedrich,

One of my clients wants a test version with no data alongside a test
version with a snapshot of his current data. So the SKU wizard sounds
like what I want. I've added this to my script:

#ifcompvar [USE_BLANK] Equals "Yes" Then
#set compiler variable [INSTALLDIR] = "C:\RFI\[PRODUCTNAME]\Test"
#end

! Important: Initialize default install folder and program group variables
Set Variable %_SB_INSTALLDIR% to "[INSTALLDIR]"

If the USE_BLANK is No, then drop the "\Test" from the installdir (default).

Do I need to worry about the shortcuts I put on the desktop and start
menu? I also think I need to add this logic to the webupdate script?
If so, do I need to have two UPGRADEGUID values?

I want to have one solution for both sets of code and one install/update
script. I'm thinking I'm over egging the simplicity pudding <g>.
--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC

NewsArchive
05-16-2013, 02:28 AM
Hi Russ,

If you are using the %_SB_INSTALLDIR% variable in your shortcuts then no
need to worry about the shortcut's target location.

But if this "test" version should be able to co-exist with the "production"
version (same machine at the same time) then you need different Product
GUIDs (->[PRODUCTGUID]) and different Shortcut names.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
05-16-2013, 09:36 AM
I need two versions on the same machine. Thanks for confirming.

--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC