PDA

View Full Version : Testing demo version

notlogan
08-20-2013, 01:18 PM
I'm just getting started. I added my files and hit test. I'm given a window telling me I have a demo version. Is there any way I can see the installation as a user will see it???

linder
08-21-2013, 01:31 AM
Hello,

SetupBuilder evaluation version is provided with an unlimited trial period. You will be able to try all its features and decide if you really like our product and want to buy it.

The evaluation version is fully functional and will allow you to try out SetupBuilder to see if it meets your needs. Please note the following restrictions:

1. You may not distribute any setup created with this evaluation version.

2. The setups you create will disable themselves after 14 days.

3. A "nag" screen is displayed in trial mode.

So the only difference is that you see the "nag" screen -- after that the installation starts as usual.

Friedrich

notlogan
08-21-2013, 06:23 AM
Thanks. I copied my executable and dll files into the destination Computer Application Folder. Then I tried to test it by hitting run. The install compiled but it didn't try to install anything. What else do I need to do? Do you have a simple tutorial anywhere that will walk me through each step of creating a simple install program?

Thanks again.

notlogan
08-21-2013, 06:30 AM
wow.....fifteen or twenty minutes after hitting the run button inside SBpro & checking the "nag" screen it looked like the install kicked off. IS A TWENTY MINUTE DELAY NORMAL? Or is that part of the demo limitation????

linder
08-21-2013, 06:38 AM
I think you are doing something wrong :) If you are interested, send your project file to support [at] lindersoft [dot] com.

There is definitely no 20 minute delay. I have never ever heard of this in 15 years <g>.

Friedrich

linder
08-21-2013, 06:40 AM
Hello,

I would suggest to download the "Examples Package" and the "Learning SetupBuilder Part I" manual.