PDA

View Full Version : How to determine that a folder is empty?

jbotwood
03-16-2005, 11:28 AM
I want to validate a folder and check that it is empty, but can't figure out how to do this unless I know a filename in the folder. I have tried searching the folder for *.*, but returns a blank when I search a folder containing files. Also, I want to search a folder that may only contain other folders, so I'm not sure how I would do this?

Jeff

gspillane
03-17-2005, 02:34 AM
HI Jeff,

If friedrich doesn't have an easy answer using his built-in functions it would be an easy job to create the appropriate function and put it in a DLL and call the function from within the script and having the function return the relevant value. I can give you a hand if you need it.

Best Regards
Geoff Spillane
Data Down Under

jbotwood
03-22-2005, 10:57 AM
Thanks very much for the offer of help. My trouble is I am not a programmer and don't have any programming tools except for SB5, so even if you told me what to do to implement it I wouldn't be able to! :-(

I have tried using GetFileInfo to get the size of the folder, and the size of the folder\*.* but these don't work either. This also means i have no way of checking the size of a folder and it's contents during an installation, which would also be handy.

My best idea so far is to search for a large number of commonly found file extensions and see if anything turns up on any of the searches, or in the case of size testing to add them all up individually. Just means a lot of code and the end result cannot be very accurate...

How about freeware DLLs that do things like this? Do you know where I could find one?

Regards,

Jeff

gspillane
03-23-2005, 02:29 AM
Hi Jeff,