PDA

View Full Version : Command Line option problem



NewsArchive
10-08-2013, 10:39 AM
I have a SetupBuilder script that I use to test Manifesting, Protecting,
and CodeSigning my Apps before finally building a Setup.exe.

I would like to automate the process by using a command line option if
possible. Here is what I have tried:

glo:SB = CLIP([Path & SetupBuilder.exe) & ' /C
K:\BaW\_Projects\SB\CodeSign.sb8 /CV PRG_NAME "AppCopy"' [I have also
tried the /SC option.]

I use vuRun from vuFileTools to call SetupBuilder and run the command line.

The PRG_NAME variable is supposed to be sent to:

#set compiler variable [PRG_CODESIGN] = "PRG_NAME"

The script runs but nothing happens.

Obviously I am doing something wrong, but am at a loss as to what it is.

Thanks,

Bob

NewsArchive
10-08-2013, 10:47 AM
Bob,

Your command line sets the PRG_NAME compiler variable to "AppCopy"

In your script, you do this:

#set compiler variable [PRG_CODESIGN] = "PRG_NAME"

This sets the compiler variable [PRG_CODESIGN] to "PRG_NAME" (hard-coded
value). It does *not* set it to the value of [PRG_NAME] (which is "AppCopy"
in your case).

So it should be:

#set compiler variable [PRG_CODESIGN] = "[PRG_NAME]"

And not sure, if the following is a copy and paste issue:

glo:SB = CLIP([Path & SetupBuilder.exe)

The name of the SB8 command line compiler is sb8.exe and not
SetupBuilder.exe.

glo:SB = CLIP([Path & SetupBuilder.exe)

should be something like:

glo:SB = Path & 'sb8.exe'

assuming that the Path variable value ends with a backslash.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
10-09-2013, 01:07 AM
Friedrich,

Thanks. That solved my problem.

The actual command line is:

glo:SB = 'C:\Program Files\Lindersoft\SetupBuilder 8 Developer\SB8.exe
/C K:\BaW\_Projects\SB\CodeSign.sb8 /SC PRG_NAME "AppCopy"'

And the compiler variable as you specified.

When writing the original message I had mistyped the name of the .exe.

Again, thanks.

Bob

NewsArchive
10-13-2013, 08:10 AM
Hi Bob,

> glo:SB = CLIP([Path & SetupBuilder.exe) & ' /C
> K:\BaW\_Projects\SB\CodeSign.sb8 /CV PRG_NAME "AppCopy"' [I have also
> tried the /SC option.]
>
> I use vuRun from vuFileTools to call SetupBuilder and run the command line.

I have one solution for you: Build Automator:) You already have a
license. You can use BA to create an execution shortcut to a project to
make it very easy to do things like this:)

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
10-13-2013, 08:10 AM
> You can use BA to create an execution shortcut to a project to
> make it very easy to do things like this:)

Absolutely!

Build Automator ROCKS for this sort of thing!

:-)

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other Clarion
developer tools!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.pagesnip.com - "Print and Save the Web, just the way you want it!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
10-13-2013, 08:11 AM
>
> Build Automator ROCKS for this sort of thing!
>

+1

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
+1.954.252.3910

--Helping You Build Better Installations
--SetupBuilder "point. click. ship"
--Create Windows 8 ready installations in minutes
--Official COMODO Code Signing and SSL Certificate Partner

NewsArchive
10-14-2013, 01:00 AM
Hi Charles,

>> You can use BA to create an execution shortcut to a project to
>> make it very easy to do things like this:)
>
> Absolutely!
>
> Build Automator ROCKS for this sort of thing!

Thanks. Personally I don't know what I'd do without it any more;) It
takes care of all my product builds including updating/committing to
version control and tagging once the build is done. Sue and I use it
also to zip up some data files that we share and copy in/out of a
DropBox folder and all kinds of other things that are not related to
building software.

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
10-14-2013, 01:01 AM
>> Build Automator ROCKS for this sort of thing!
>
> Thanks. Personally I don't know what I'd do without it any more;) It
> takes care of all my product builds including updating/committing to
> version control and tagging once the build is done. Sue and I use it
> also to zip up some data files that we share and copy in/out of a
> DropBox folder and all kinds of other things that are not related to
> building software.

I can appreciate that.

I use it for different things as well.

:-)

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other Clarion
developer tools!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.pagesnip.com - "Print and Save the Web, just the way you want it!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------