PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Set Feature State (v8.1.4227)



Unregistered
03-16-2014, 07:19 AM
Hello,
I am trying to have 2 different setup types. (User, IT)
I want to have different features based on the setup type defaulted in the custom box.
(i.e. I have 10 features, 5 desktop, 5 server) A user can have all 10 if they want, but we want to default the custom install dialog box based on their choice. In my example below I changed it to 2 features to keep it simple.


So in my script I have the below

Loop Wizard (Abort Dialog Active)
If %_SB_DIALOGID% Equals "4" Then
If %_SB_SETUPTYPEID% Equals "VFCLIENTSETUP" Then
Display Message Box "%CUSTOM_PLATFORMTYPE%" -- "test"
Set Feature State(Enable: "VF_CLIENTAPP") [Global Reset]
Set Feature State(Disable: "VF_DBMANAGER") [Global Reset]
Refresh Next Dialog
End
If %_SB_SETUPTYPEID% Equals "VFSERVERSETUP" Then
Display Message Box "%_SB_SETUPTYPEID%" -- "test2"
Set Feature State(Enable: "VF_DBMANAGER") [Global Reset]
Set Feature State(Disable: "VF_CLIENTAPP") [Global Reset]
Refresh Next Dialog
End
End
End


So the script works correctly, as I hit next on my setup type dialog depending on my choice the correct "default" selections are made in my custom install dialog box. However if I back up, and change the type, the changes are not reflected in the custom install dialog (I do get the messages) and the %_SB_FEATURESID% does change (I am not changing it directly, but I was message boxing them out and it does seem to change), but the program doesn't seem to apply the changes since the components are not installed, file sizes in the ready to install dialog still reflect the original choice etc.

linder
03-16-2014, 07:34 AM
Hello,

Would it be possible to send a simple .sb8 demo project to support [at] lindersoft [dot] com? Unfortunately, we can't reproduce the issue here.

Thanks,
Friedrich

Unregistered
03-16-2014, 04:32 PM
Hello,

Would it be possible to send a simple .sb8 demo project to support [at] lindersoft [dot] com? Unfortunately, we can't reproduce the issue here.

Thanks,
Friedrich


Thanks Freidrich!!!, its been sent from kconner.

linder
03-17-2014, 09:36 AM
Received, thank you !!! IMO, it's a bug in the SB installer runtime. Item in review and I'll keep you posted.

Friedrich

linder
03-18-2014, 04:56 AM
As far as we can see, the Custom Setup dialog does not receive the update event. But we still don't understand what causes it. Item still in review.

Friedrich

linder
03-18-2014, 08:59 AM
I think we have fixed it. It was caused by a multiple bug issue in the runtime. Doing regression testing of the affected modules now.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention!

Friedrich

linder
03-18-2014, 11:33 AM
Currently running more stress tests. We'll make a new test version available tomorrow.

Friedrich

linder
03-20-2014, 11:14 AM
Ken,

We have uploaded a new test version. Does this fix the issue?

http://www.lindersoft.com/sb8/sb81_4363_Dev.exe

Thank you for your help!

Friedrich