PDA

View Full Version : Code Signing



NewsArchive
04-18-2014, 09:14 AM
What is the difference of using CodeSign.exe and CodeTool.exe? My
project will code sign using CodeTool but errors out when I use
CodeSign. I have everything in the SB Options set correctly and I have
all my certificate files, etc in the the SB lib folder.

Thanks

--
Darrel (Dee) Witham
Professional Data Services, Inc

NewsArchive
04-18-2014, 09:15 AM
I am on the lastest SB 8 release.

--
Darrel (Dee) Witham
Professional Data Services, Inc

NewsArchive
04-18-2014, 09:15 AM
This just started with the current version.build of SB8.

--
Darrel (Dee) Witham
Professional Data Services, Inc

NewsArchive
04-18-2014, 09:27 AM
Darrel,

>
> This just started with the current version.build of SB8.
>

Nothing changed in SB8 and so it's not caused by the update.

SignCode.exe makes use of your certificate in form of .pvk/.spc to code-sign
files. SignTool.exe makes use of your certificate in form of .pfx.

Several things to check (assuming you are using the correct sign tool for
your certificate):

1. The code-signing certificate expired?

-or-

2. The configuration for the code-signing process is incorrect (wrong
password?)

-or-

3. The PE Header structure (if you are using the "#code-sign application..."
directive to sign external files) is invalid. To fix this, you can try to
recompile the file and make sure that you have the "Skip if file is already
code-signed" checkbox option enabled.

-or-

4. If you are using timestamping, the timestamp server is not accessible or
down. Make sure your latest virus-/spyware- definition update does not
block the timestamp server. To check this, you can disable timestamping.
Don't forget to re-enable it! Or switch to another timestamp server.

-or-

5. Your protection software received an update and is over-protective. It
blocks the Microsoft Authenticode tool. Try to add the tool to the
exclusion list.

-or-

6. If you are using SignTool.exe, the Capicom component might not be
available.
http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?p=53010

Friedrich

NewsArchive
04-19-2014, 12:45 AM
That explains it - I only have the .PFX file.

Thanks

--
Darrel (Dee) Witham
Professional Data Services, Inc