PDA

View Full Version : (Redistributable Manager) MS Visual C++ 2010 Redist (x64)



felix
04-23-2014, 04:43 AM
Good Day!

I am just trying out the Setup Builder Developer Edition and I would like to add the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64) to my setup project using the Redistributable Manager. But I can only choose the x86 version. How do I get the x64 version?

Best regards,
Felix

linder
04-23-2014, 04:46 AM
Felix,

You can download the x64 version directly from Microsoft and then build your own include script (just use the x86 version as a starting point).

Does this help?

Friedrich

felix
04-23-2014, 05:24 AM
Hi Friedrich,

yes, that helps. Thanks. But I am a bit unsure what I have to change in that script. I am able to change everything from x86 to x64 - but what of the rest will I have to change?

Like the variables (sb_tmp) which gets reg key values from local_machine\software\ms... - do I have to change anything with that?

Or like the 64-bit mode - do I need that part? I guess the x64 redist package only installs on 64-bit machines. Or would it be possible to change the script to choose between x86 & x64 setup files of the redist package?

Thanks in advance.

Felix

linder
04-23-2014, 06:31 AM
Felix,

Before I answer the question(s), are you sure you need the x64 redistributable? The Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package (x64) installs runtime components of Visual C++ Libraries required to run 64-bit applications developed with Visual C++ 2010 SP1 on a computer that does not have Visual C++ 2010 SP1 installed. Do you have a native 64-bit application that makes use of the VC++ 2010 components? You do not need it for 32-bit applications.

Friedrich

linder
04-23-2014, 06:34 AM
BTW, if you really need the 64-bit Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 redistributable, just let me know and we'll develop the include script for you.

Friedrich

felix
04-23-2014, 06:44 AM
Friedrich, yes I do. My application runs in native 64-Bit and requires the VC++ 2010 Redist Package in 64-Bit.

Caused by different used DLLs I sometimes have to compile my software in 32-Bit and sometimes in 64-Bit. (Unfortunately some dlls are not available in 64-bit)

The easiest & best way for me would be to generate a setup where I could choose between those two. So that the setup chooses every needed x86 or x64 component automatically after the user chose what to install. Would that be possible with your software?

Felix

linder
04-23-2014, 06:52 AM
Felix,

Yes, this is absolutely no problem :). We'll develop the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 SP1 Redistributable Package (x64). I'll post the link later today or tomorrow morning, okay?

BTW, we'll use the following MS package:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523

Friedrich

felix
04-23-2014, 06:54 AM
Yes, that sounds great. Thank you very much! (Tomorrow will definitely early enough. :) )

I was always using this package: http://www.microsoft.com/de-de/download/details.aspx?id=14632

Felix

linder
04-23-2014, 07:28 AM
Felix,

This is an outdated redistributable (does not contain important security updates). I would suggest to use latest SP1...

Friedrich

felix
04-23-2014, 07:34 AM
Yes, you are right, that is better.

Felix

linder
04-23-2014, 07:37 AM
Yes, that sounds great. Thank you very much! (Tomorrow will definitely early enough. :) )

The include script is ready to go. We'll test it on some x64 machines now...

Friedrich

linder
04-23-2014, 08:11 AM
Felix,

Okay, please try the following (see attached screenshots):

1. Help | Redistributable Manager... | Select "Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64)" and click the "Download Runtime" button. This will download and install the redistributable including the deployment logic script.

2. Add the new "rt_vc2010redist_x64.sbi" to your project (Script Editor)

3. Compile and run :-)

This will install the Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x64) on Windows x64 machines. You can now put more logic around the include script in your main project or modify the include script.

What do you think? Does this help?

Friedrich

felix
04-23-2014, 08:35 AM
Thank you very much for the good and fast support, Friedrich. That looks pretty good. Now I have try out the rest of the software; Learn to use it and change everything the way I need it. :)

linder
04-23-2014, 09:21 AM
You are very welcome, Felix !!!

And if there is any problem or question, just let us know :)

Friedrich