PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible?



NewsArchive
07-28-2014, 03:18 AM
I would like to have a popup on the Taskbar to tell users when a new version
of my app is available for download. Is this possible with SB8?
Thanks
Nev

NewsArchive
07-28-2014, 03:19 AM
Dunno about SB8 since its an installer. However, you can make a simple
app that runs as a service in your tray. CHT can easily do this. All
it does is check like once an hour (EVENT:Timer) by calling wcheck.exe
(an SB8 program).

--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC

NewsArchive
07-28-2014, 03:20 AM
Thanks Russ
I assume that wcheck.exe polls my product website and compares the version
number to that installed or compares the byte size of the two apps. I think
that CHT requires a full subscription which I am loathe to do. Maybe it is a
NetTalk option to create. Maybe someone has already created the app and
might like to share.

Neville Wright

NewsArchive
07-28-2014, 03:20 AM
Nev,

> wcheck.exe

Simply call it from within your own APP whenever it starts. Or write a
simple ABC APP that sits in the tray and does it on whatever interval
you want. Running in the tray is a built-in template option since 6.3,
it's the FrameExtension template.

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://www.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"

NewsArchive
07-28-2014, 03:21 AM
Ah so! It needs to be downloaded from SB as it is not on my pc. Running in
the tray is not a problem. I want to know what wcheck actually does.

Neville Wright

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:48 AM
Nev,

> Ah so! It needs to be downloaded from SB as it is not on my pc. Running in
> the tray is not a problem. I want to know what wcheck actually does.

Look at wucheck and wupdate in the SB help.

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://www.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:48 AM
Thanks Lee
I was looking for wcheck not wucheck.
Nev

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:48 AM
Nev,

> I was looking for wcheck not wucheck.

Yeah. Apparently Russ doesn't like "U" !!!<g>

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://www.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:49 AM
How about ewe?<g>

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:49 AM
Jeff,

> How about ewe?<g>

It's ALWAYS about you!<g>

Lee White

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:49 AM
That's for Kiwis. ( Aussie Joke)

Neville Wright

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:50 AM
Launch SB8 and press F1. Search for wcheck (and wupdate).

What I do is use a Source procedure (called on start up) and this is all
the code in it (all SV shipping source, zero 3rd party used):

RUN('wucheck.exe /S /C', 1)
IF RUNCODE() = 1
MESSAGE('Update available!||NOTE: THIS APP WILL BE CLOSED.||Click
OK to download and install...', 'Auto Updater', ICON:Exclamation)
RUN('wupdate.exe')
CleanCloseDown() !SV ships this
ELSE
END

--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:50 AM
Thanks Russ

Neville Wright

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:52 AM
Yes, Capesoft Self Service

Dan Scott

NewsArchive
07-29-2014, 02:52 AM
You are short changing yourself by not subscribing to CHT, however
Capesoft's SelfService may be more of your cup of tea.

--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC

NewsArchive
07-30-2014, 04:16 AM
ewe talkin to me?!?<g>

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
07-30-2014, 04:17 AM
Ba-aa-aa-aa! Humbug!

--

Craig E. Ransom
Tracker Software Products, Ltd.
http://tracker-software.com/

NewsArchive
07-30-2014, 04:18 AM
Russ,

I assume, "RUN('wupdate.exe')" will run an update then, as like the admin would
have inserted a CD into the tray?

What happens on a network, if several users are logged into the app?

Isn't an automated update like a key to open the doors of hell?

Regards,
Wolfgang Orth
www.odata.de

NewsArchive
07-30-2014, 04:19 AM
Each workstation gets the update applied.

In my web update script, I have this check (slightly altered to hide the
name of the app due to NDA reasons):


! Detect previous installation folder
Set Variable %_SB_INSTALLDIR% to FUNCTION:Detect Previous
Version("[PRODUCTGUID]")
If %_SB_ERRORCODE% Equals "0" Then
Display Message Box "The Web Update application failed to detect a
prev..." -- "Previous Version Detection Failed"
Exit Installation()
End
Loop
Set Variable %ITSACTIVE% to FUNCTION:Detect Active
Application("ThisApp.exe") [File Name]
If %ITSACTIVE% Equals "1" Then
Display Message Box "This App is still running. Please sav..."
-- "This App is still running"
Else
Break Loop
End
End
Set Variable %ITSACTIVE% to ""

The above code is just after the remove installer section.

Bottom line, the sequence of action is as follows:

1) User launches your app.
2) First thing your app does is check for an update.
2A) If no updates are found, continues normally. Done.
3) Update found, display a message and prompts user to proceed.
4) Update is downloaded and launched.
5) Update checks to see if the app is still running (see above). If so,
inform the user what to do and stay in the loop. If not still running,
break out of the loop and update normally.
6) Optional, but nice touch: At the end of the update provide a check to
launch the application. Default is to launch.

All users in the same business are forced to use the same version in
this scenario.

--

Russ Eggen
RADFusion International, LLC