PDA

View Full Version : Command line compiling question



NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:01 AM
Hi Friedrich -

Any ideas on the course of action to take if I want to conditionally
compile xx number of .sbi files within my project?

e.g. If Command("/YadaYada")
Include("YadaYada.sbi")
end

There could potentially be quite a few YadaYadas, maybe 20 tops.

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:01 AM
Hi Jeff,

I have to give it some thoughts...

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:02 AM
Thanks a lot!

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:03 AM
Another option could be for me to generate a list of files to include
in the setup (w/o the need for .sbi).

Can the compiler utilize a text file of stuff to include?

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:04 AM
Hi Jeff,

> Any ideas on the course of action to take if I want to conditionally
> compile xx number of .sbi files within my project?
>
> e.g. If Command("/YadaYada")
> Include("YadaYada.sbi")
> end
>
> There could potentially be quite a few YadaYadas, maybe 20 tops.
>

If you can use compiler variables to set it up, you could do this with
Build Automator by setting it to pass values to those compiler variables
in Setup Builder. I use this, although not conditionally, to set up my
SB scripts from BA.

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:04 AM
> If you can use compiler variables to set it up, you could do this with
> Build Automator by setting it to pass values to those compiler variables
> in Setup Builder. I use this, although not conditionally, to set up my
> SB scripts from BA.

You can also load data in SB from an INI file,

Our Universal installer uses both Build Automator and SetupBuilder.

We send certain variables to the SB script from BA. One of these is the
product folder and another is the product name.

Then in SB we go to that folder and open an INI file of the passed name.

From there we pick up numerous settings, file groups to include, etc.

Then we have conditional areas inside the SB script that respond
accordingly to build the custom installer.

It works like a charm.

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other Clarion
developer tools!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.pagesnip.com - "Print and Save the Web, just the way you want it!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:05 AM
neat. thanks.

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:06 AM
Hi Charles,

> You can also load data in SB from an INI file,
>
> Our Universal installer uses both Build Automator and SetupBuilder.

Good point about the INI files. You can update INI files from BA, or
just write the whole INI if you want to using the "Write Text to File"
action.

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:09 AM
Thanks. Have you got an example script? :)

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 02:10 AM
Hi Jeff,

> Thanks. Have you got an example script? :)
>
>

Go to http://www.buildautomator.com/download-examples.php and download
one of the projects there. They are old, but still should show you what
you want. Also look at
http://www.buildautomator.com/onlinemanual/compile_setupbuilder.htm to
see how it's set up. You can pass any compiler variable over. As
Charles said, you can also use INI files to communicate data. BA can
write INI files and SB can read them so you can pass as much info as you
want. The compiler variables are passed on the command line so there
are limits to how much data can be passed over.

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson - Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 04:02 AM
Hi Jeff,

I have created and uploaded an SB8 example (includes the main .sb8 project,
three .sbi include scripts and a simple BATCH file):

http://www.lindersoft.com/projects/CCompile.zip

1. The COMMANDLINE compiler variable controls the compilation process.

2. There are three "dummy" include scripts: Yada1.sbi, Yada2.sbi and
Yada3.sbi.

3. Based on the compiler variable value, the SetupBuilder compiler handles
the conditional compile.

For example: sb8.exe" /C "CCompile.sb8" /CV COMMANDLINE "yada1;yada2"
compiles Yada1.sbi and Yada2.sbi.

Does this help?

Friedrich

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 07:17 AM
Thank you very much. I'll ck them out.

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.

NewsArchive
09-30-2014, 07:17 AM
Sweet. I think it does.

Thanks so much.

The INI idea sounds good too.

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
www.twitter.com/jslarve
I'll search help files & Google for you.