PDA

View Full Version : Compiler FTP Upload Error (Error Code #6)



NewsArchive
03-11-2016, 01:31 AM
Trying to add FTP upload to my installer, I get Error Code #6.
Anyone know what I have incorrectly set up?

Sim

NewsArchive
03-20-2016, 04:14 AM
Friedrich, could you please assist?

Sim Scherer

NewsArchive
03-20-2016, 04:14 AM
Hi Sim

I don't know what error #6 ii but I have never had problems with ftp uploads.

1: Make sure that [x] Use PASV mode is checked
2: try disabling your firewall of add your SB??.exe to the whitelist in your
AV/Firewall
3: check the settings you are using match what the ftp server expects.

JohnG

NewsArchive
03-21-2016, 03:55 AM
Sim,

> Friedrich, could you please assist?

What John said. It's a simple one-line FtpPutFile() WinINet API call that
uploads file(s). This API fails in your case. Perhaps the password to your
FTP server is incorrect (don't try to upload to a www address, you have to
upload to ftp.yada.com), or the firewall blocks it, or the destination
folder does not allow uploads (e.g. a typical upload location is
ftp.yada.com/puplic_html/yada), etc.

Error Code #6 is System Error Code 6 -> Invalid file handle. It does not
tell us what went wrong.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 04:22 AM
Yup, got all that now. Fixed!

Only problem remaining is that only the EXE gets transferred.
How can I get the HTM transferred as well?

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 06:49 AM
Sim,

> Yup, got all that now. Fixed!
>
> Only problem remaining is that only the EXE gets transferred.
> How can I get the HTM transferred as well?

It only uploads the installation related files (e.g. setup.exe and .0000x
cluster files). It does not upload non-installer related files (e.g. .cvs
or .htm compiler build report files).

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 06:49 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Can it be achieved by adding a "#ftp upload"?

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 06:49 AM
Hi Sim,

>
> Can it be achieved by adding a "#ftp upload"?
>

Yes! Just set "Source File" to [OUTPUTDIR]\yada.htm and enable the "Process
after script compilation" option.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 06:50 AM
Great.

Where do I add #ftp upload code?
It needs to run after the HTM is created, but I cannot identify that in the
script.

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:27 PM
Sim,

> Great.
>
> Where do I add #ftp upload code?
> It needs to run after the HTM is created, but I cannot identify that in
> the script.

You can add it wherever you want because it is executed after the setup.exe
compilation process (see attached screenshot).

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:28 PM
I don't understand what is happening, but when I add it at the beginning of
the script, precisely where you put it, the file is FTPd right at the
beginning. See attached JPG.

How do you get this FTP to run at the end, AFTER the exe and htm file are
created?

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:29 PM
Sim,

> How do you get this FTP to run at the end, AFTER the exe and htm file are
> created?

Do you have "Process after script compilation" checked?

Lee White

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:30 PM
Sim,

>I don't understand what is happening, but when I add it at the beginning of
> the script, precisely where you put it, the file is FTPd right at the
> beginning. See attached JPG.
>
> How do you get this FTP to run at the end, AFTER the exe and htm file are
> created?

You have to enable the "Process after script compilation" option in
SetupBuilder 10 (see attached screenshot).

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:38 PM
Friedrich,

> You have to enable the "Process after script compilation" option in
> SetupBuilder 10 (see attached screenshot).

HA! Beat ya by 8 seconds!!!<g>

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://www.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"
And, now, Windows 10 brings us "The Inch Worm, Bumper Car of Wait!"

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:38 PM
>
> HA! Beat ya by 8 seconds!!!<g>
>

LOL. You are too fast for me. I am just an old turtle <g>

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:41 PM
Ok, fixed that final compiler error, but still cannot figure out why the
first-time upload before compile.

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:41 PM
Sim,

> Ok, fixed that final compiler error, but still cannot figure out why the
> first-time upload before compile.

Any chance you have two instances of #ftp upload from your previous
testing?

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://www.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"
And, now, Windows 10 brings us "The Inch Worm, Bumper Car of Wait!"

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:42 PM
No, that is the one and only #ftp statement in my script, but you may have
something there.
I commented out that #ftp and tried recompiling; it still uploads at the
beginning!

Boggled

Sim Scherer

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:43 PM
> No, that is the one and only #ftp statement in my script, but you may have
> something there.
> I commented out that #ftp and tried recompiling; it still uploads at the
> beginning!
>
> Boggled

Check your "Common Definitions.sbi". Perhaps you have (accidentally) added
it there.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:44 PM
I have now also checked "Process after script compilation".
Now it uploads at the start, successfully, and again, after compile, but
then it fails with "Compiler upload error".

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:45 PM
> I have now also checked "Process after script compilation".
> Now it uploads at the start, successfully, and again, after compile, but
> then it fails with "Compiler upload error".

In SetupBuilder v10 (and v8), it looks like this (see attached). It uploads
the installer image(s) and after that it handles the post compilation tasks.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:46 PM
Okay everyone, quit panicking!

Thanks Friedrich and Lee, all fixed. I had a #ftp in the Common
Definitions.sbi as well, now removed, and the FTP runs only once, at the
right time, too!

Sim

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:46 PM
http://imgur.com/K7W5zJq

>Okay everyone, quit panicking!

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
Twitter free since Jan 11, 2016
I'll search help files & Google for you.

Grammar troll's, are the worse.

NewsArchive
03-29-2016, 12:46 PM
I like it, I like it!
:-O
Sim

NewsArchive
03-18-2021, 10:49 AM
Anyone know the meaning of: "Compiler FTP Upload Error (Error Code
#6)"

Never seen this before, script and password hasn't changed!

Sim