PDA

View Full Version : Why should SetupBuiilder crash Windows Explorer



NewsArchive
05-31-2016, 11:07 AM
Well, not quite, but after checking for updates of my app on the web, I have
inserted code to download and run the (SB generated) update EXE, followed by
a HALT to ensure that the update is unrestricted. The download runs fine but
as soon as the update EXE starts, up flashes a message that Windows Exploder
has stopped. This freaks out my users!

Anyone have any ideas?

Sim

NewsArchive
06-01-2016, 05:32 AM
Sim,

> Well, not quite, but after checking for updates of my app on the web, I
> have inserted code to download and run the (SB generated) update EXE,
> followed by a HALT to ensure that the update is unrestricted. The download
> runs fine but as soon as the update EXE starts, up flashes a message that
> Windows Exploder has stopped. This freaks out my users!
>
> Anyone have any ideas?

There is not enough data there to tell you exactly what the problem is (e.g.
SetupBuilder version and Windows version).

Why do you think SetupBuilder causes this "crash" in Windows Explorer? Is
this a SetupBuilder 10 generated update?

Perhaps it's caused by the anti-virus system that does a real-time
monitoring on the downloaded .EXE and this causes some kind of
stack-corruption. Or the downloaded EXE is "damaged" (upload/download
transmission error). Or the function in your application that "waits" for
the download causes some trouble, or it's your use of HALT (thread issue,
etc.). Make sure that you have "dual" code-signed your files (to make the
protection systems happy) and that you are using a technology which is
compatible with the operating system (e.g. a Windows 10 compliant
application and installer for a Windows 10 and Server 2016 OS).

IMO, it's not the SetupBuilder 10 generated .EXE that "crashes" Windows
Explorer.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-01-2016, 05:33 AM
Hi Friedrich,

This is for a college. My intention was to get their updates, 3 different
(signed) apps, to do the following at app start up, if warranted:
1) download
2) halt
3) update
they all crash at stage 3, the update does not run.

Attributes:
* OS: Windows 7
* SB ver: 6.9
* Anti-virus: NOD32/ESET

Sim

NewsArchive
06-01-2016, 07:00 AM
Hi Sim,

Just for fun, what happens when you do not execute HALT. Or what happens if
you run the update.exe manually.

By the way, SetupBuilder version 6.9 is 8 years old and not compliant with
any UAC-aware Windows version. It is it not recommended to use an outdated
installer on modern operating systems. If you run a non-compliant setup (or
application) then Windows will switch the program into "legacy mode" with
uncontrollable side effects.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-01-2016, 09:28 AM
If I run the EXE manually, the sky is shining.
"Just for fun", I commented out all the relevant code, and simply inserted
code to RUN(update.exe) in Global > Embeds > Program End ...

....... that crashes too!

Sim

NewsArchive
06-02-2016, 01:36 AM
Hi Sim,

> If I run the EXE manually, the sky is shining.
> "Just for fun", I commented out all the relevant code, and simply inserted
> code to RUN(update.exe) in Global > Embeds > Program End ...
>
> ....... that crashes too!

So the EXE launched without RUN() works, but using RUN(EXE) crashes Windows
Explorer, right? That means the calling app causes the crash. Is this app
compiled with Clarion 8 or later? Previous Clarion versions are using the
CreateProcess Windows API in RUN() to start an executable, new Clarion
versions are using ShellExecute(Ex). CreateProcess can't start an
executable which requests administrator execution level privileges (run
elevated). This might cause the crash — but it is only a guess.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
06-02-2016, 01:36 AM
Ok you've got me now!

If I use the ShellExecute code from Sterling Data then Windows Explorer
falls over, just like running RUN().
However when I borrow the ShellExecute code from LinderSoft's demo code ....
it works just fine!

Many many thanks again!

Sim