PDA

View Full Version : Adding files


NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:26 AM
[Thursday, April 21, 2005 6:52 PM]

Hi Friedrich,

This may already be possible, but I haven't figured out how.

Let's say that I have 15 files in one directory that I need to
install. So I add them to that directory in the install. I modify
the properties on some, as some are dlls that need to be registered,
etc. etc. The way I create all my installs is that I create the
directory structure on my drive, then I add the whole structure. Each
install is in it's own directory and the most current install is
always in a "Latest" directory, so for the Icetips Previewer for
example I have this:

C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Docs
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Examples
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Images
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Template
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Tools
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Tools\ITIn stall
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\3rdParty\Tools\ITPr ev
C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Latest\Bin

When I create a new version, I create a new directory like

C:\Products\ITPreviewer\Version 2.104

and copy the tree over and I'm now ready to build a new install in the
Latest directory having backed up the old install into a new tree.

3 months later I need to add another 15 files to this directory. So I
copy them to my hard drive directory. If I now select all the 30
files in the directory in SB5 and copy them, I get duplicates of the
original 15 files that were the before.

I have 2 choices:

1. I can pick out which 15 files to copy

2. I can copy them all and then remove the duplicates and make sure I
remove the ones that I haven't set up to be registered etc.

I suggest one or more of the following to help with this problem:

1. It would be really nice if you could add an option to show file
properties in a tooltip. IMO this option should be accessible on the
file list window so you can turn it on and off right where you need
it. This could also be a nice options in places where considerable
information is available when you open a dialog box.

2. It would be very helpful if there was a "Added date" column in the
file list for the install. That way it would be easy to see when the
files were added! In that regard - adding header sort to the
listboxes would be helpful as well.

3. Have an option when you add files/directories to overwrite or
duplicate.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:26 AM
[Thursday, April 21, 2005 7:07 PM]

> 3. Have an option when you add files/directories to overwrite or
> duplicate.

Oh man could I use that right now:) I was just about to post and ask for a
duplicate file name warning that included both the source and destination
in the message with Yes/No/Are you crazy buttons.
--

Mark

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:26 AM
[Thursday, April 21, 2005 7:31 PM]

Hi Mark,

>Oh man could I use that right now:) I was just about to post and ask for a
>duplicate file name warning that included both the source and destination
>in the message with Yes/No/Are you crazy buttons.

Couple of months ago I was messing with an install with about 50 files
in one dir. Needed to add 3 files and just took the whole dir and
added them, not realizing I'd have 50 duplicates and 3 new files<g>
Took me an hour to sort it out since about half of the original files
had some extra settings in the properties.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:27 AM
[Saturday, April 23, 2005 1:42 PM]

Hi Arnór,

Food for thoughts, thank you!!!!

BTW, header sort (Files and Folders screen -> upper right and lower right
listboxes) does not work on your machine?

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
04-24-2005, 04:38 AM
[Saturday, April 23, 2005 6:47 PM]

Hi Friedrich,

>BTW, header sort (Files and Folders screen -> upper right and lower right
>listboxes) does not work on your machine?

I don't think it did back when I was messing with this. It does now:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA