PDA

View Full Version : Run/Save/Cancel



NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:47 AM
I have a technically challenged client. The staff cannot get their heads
around checking their download folder to identify and run the installer.
This always means a support call and TeamViewer.

How can I configure SB so that when they click the installer link, they are
automatically presented with option buttons Run, Save and Cancel?

Sim

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:47 AM
Sim,

> I have a technically challenged client. The staff cannot get their heads
> around checking their download folder to identify and run the installer.
> This always means a support call and TeamViewer.
>
> How can I configure SB so that when they click the installer link, they are
> automatically presented with option buttons Run, Save and Cancel?

That's all dependent on their browser settings. SB can't affect those
through a download link.

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://archive.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"
And, now, Windows 10 brings us "The Inch Worm, Bumper Car of Wait!"

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:48 AM
Thanks Lee. I had no idea, I'll check that out.

Sim

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:48 AM
I use a small php file on the server. It takes the filename as a
parameter and presents them with a web page to right-click and save
as. You could also include instructional language on the web page,
etc.

Here's an example:

<html>
<body>
Please right-click on the link below then click "Save As" to save the
file to your computer<br>
<A href="<?php echo ($_GET["filename"]) ?>"> download </A>
</body>
</html>

Jeff Slarve
www.jssoftware.com
Twitter free since Jan 11, 2016
I'll search help files & Google for you.

Grammar troll's, are the worse.

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:50 AM
Sim, Jeff,

> I use a small php file on the server. It takes the filename as a
> parameter and presents them with a web page to right-click and save
> as. You could also include instructional language on the web page,
> etc.

Right click will work on any standard href anchor.

<a href="installs/core/CRT90-10324.EXE">C9.0.10324+</a>

See attached screen caps...

Lee White

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 03:50 AM
Hi Sim,

> How can I configure SB so that when they click the installer link, they
> are automatically presented with option buttons Run, Save and Cancel?

I think the solution is called a virus<g>

The browsers I have show downloaded files in a popup "strip" at the
bottom of the browser, where you user can click on them to run them.
I'm sure it depends on some browser or internet settings though.

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
12-27-2016, 05:03 AM
Sim,

And you should code-sign the .EXE with a "reputed" certificate. Otherwise,
the operating system or the browser might "hide" the Run button. Similar to
the screenshots here:

http://www.lindersoft.com/forums/showthread.php?46865-Need-Help-SetupBuilder-10-certificate-reputation-(screenshots-attached)&p=84753#post84753

Friedrich

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:43 PM
Hi Arnor,

I don't recall seeing the 3-button option since IE9 but I may be wrong.

What I do is email a link of the setup.exe file. This works fine for all
other clients. This opens an empty browser page and then downloads to the
user downloads folder, with progress on the lower left and a "Show all"
button on the lower right.

At this point the client is stumped. She wants a link that she can click and
have it run immediately.

Sim

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:44 PM
> At this point the client is stumped. She wants a link that she can click and
> have it run immediately.

Hi Sim,

That is not going to happen.

Windows and Web Browser security is designed that way to keep stupid people
from downloading and installing viruses in a single click. Currently they
can download a virus (or any exe) from a link, but they must manually run
it so that it is not Microsoft's fault<g>.

Your best bet is to use the Check for Updates capability in SetupBuilder
from within your program.

Then you just send her an e-mail that tells her to click THAT button in
your app.

Have the updater download the update (or new version), then use the
installer to kill off the running copy of the exe and continue installing
the update.

You can also prompt her to uninstall the old version (if need be) so that a
new full install can take place (we do that in our Super Installer script
for our templates).

You already have the tools that you need to do the job.

Charles

--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:44 PM
Ok, I have that all the way through the download, up and running. No problem
there.

The part I cannot get my head round is " ... then use the installer to kill
off the running copy of the exe and continue installing the update".

Sim

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:45 PM
> The part I cannot get my head round is " ... then use the installer to kill
> off the running copy of the exe and continue installing the update".

The simple (and polite) route is to use the feature in SetupBuilder to
detect that your EXE is running, then display a message asking the customer
to exit the program before pressing continue (just like it works when you
update to a new version of SetupBuilder).

A more forceful approach is to detect the EXE is running, then terminate
the application - SetupBuilder can do that too.

But that is a bad idea IMHO as it could cause your customer to lose data if
they were in the middle of an edit.

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:46 PM
Ah, found it, thanks!
Script "Terminate application.

Sim

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:47 PM
Hi Sim,

> How can I configure SB so that when they click the installer link, they
> are automatically presented with option buttons Run, Save and Cancel?

Had an idea: Once you have a program running, have the program download
and start the installer, not having the user go the browser route. Of
course the challenge is to get that first program installed and
running;) SB has an awesome tool for this - web updates:) If that
doesn't float your boat there are multiple ftp solutions that can be
used - Mike's (cannot-remember-lastname) open CURL project might work.
Or you can use SB to create a simple project that downloads a file.

Best regards,


--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:47 PM
> Had an idea: Once you have a program running, have the program download
> and start the installer, not having the user go the browser route. Of
> course the challenge is to get that first program installed and
> running;) SB has an awesome tool for this - web updates:) If that
> doesn't float your boat there are multiple ftp solutions that can be
> used - Mike's (cannot-remember-lastname) open CURL project might work.
> Or you can use SB to create a simple project that downloads a file.

That would work too.

If all else fails just print the instructions in a big easy to read font
and STAPLE them onto the customer's forehead!


:-)

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:48 PM
This particular user is a lady in her mid-90's!
Is that what is meant by a "terminal solution"?

Sim Scherer

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:48 PM
Hi Charles,

> That would work too.

The web update in SB is an awesome tool for stuff like this. Abd SB
also has options to download files so it can be used for that too.

> If all else fails just print the instructions in a big easy to read font
> and STAPLE them onto the customer's forehead!

Sounds to me that superglue might be in order here;)

Best regards,

--
Arnor Baldvinsson
Icetips Alta LLC

NewsArchive
12-28-2016, 01:49 PM
> The web update in SB is an awesome tool for stuff like this. Abd SB
> also has options to download files so it can be used for that too.

Indeed - everything in one box, just as we have come to expect from
Friedrich!


>> If all else fails just print the instructions in a big easy to read font
>> and STAPLE them onto the customer's forehead!
>
> Sounds to me that superglue might be in order here;)

Maybe BOTH. I figured that staples would help get the point across (drum
roll)<VBG>.


:-)

Charles



--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
12-29-2016, 10:38 AM
Using "Terminate application" causes Windows Explorer to crash, AFTER the
setup has started.

See attached (dunno whether that helps)

Sim

NewsArchive
12-29-2016, 10:39 AM
Sim,

> Using "Terminate application" causes Windows Explorer to crash, AFTER the
> setup has started.
>
> See attached (dunno whether that helps)

IIRC, you are using a very outdated SB7 version from good old 2008, right?
This version is not compatible with any modern Windows operating system.

Try the same with the latest SetupBuilder 2017 build.

BTW, and you should do this kind of action *after* the wizard loop, never at
setup startup. And if you try to terminate your own application, you should
handle the "gently close" method (so your app can save data and exit). Or
check for the active app (in a loop) and ask the user to close the program.
Killing an app is always sub-optimal.

Friedrich

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:49 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Where exactly in the script is "after the wizard loop"?
Or is there a way to code the script to terminate only "after the wizard
loop"?

Sim

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:51 AM
> Where exactly in the script is "after the wizard loop"?
> Or is there a way to code the script to terminate only "after the wizard
> loop"?

Sim,

Switch to the script editor view and scroll near the bottom of the
generated script. Then you will see code like what I have attached.

Put your terminate code AFTER that block of code.

Does that help?

Charles



--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:51 AM
I have created a small test application, and recoded my SB as you suggest.
See attached.
That also crashes Windows Explorer, in the same fashion.

Sim

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:52 AM
Will try this with SB10

Sim

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:53 AM
.... and that crashes Windows Explorer too, with SB10.

No idea whether is significant, but my OS is Windows 7 32-bit.

Sim

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:53 AM
Sim,

> .... and that crashes Windows Explorer too, with SB10.
> No idea whether is significant, but my OS is Windows 7 32-bit.

As has been suggested before, do NOT use this method. Shutting down a
running program from the outside is an invitation to problems. It's
much better to see if the program is running and requesting the user
to close it from within itself. You can do this in a loop until the
program is no longer running.

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://archive.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"
And, now, Windows 10 brings us "The Inch Worm, Bumper Car of Wait!"

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:54 AM
> As has been suggested before, do NOT use this method. Shutting down a
> running program from the outside is an invitation to problems. It's
> much better to see if the program is running and requesting the user
> to close it from within itself. You can do this in a loop until the
> program is no longer running.

Look at "Detect Active Application" in the help and scroll down to the
example.

> Loop
> Set Variable %SB6ACTIVE% to FUNCTION:Detect Active Application(sbuilder.exe)
> If %SB6ACTIVE% Equals "1" Then
> Display Message Box "Hey, dummy, close the stink'n program! :)"
> If %_SB_RETURN% Equals "$IDCANCEL$" Then
> Exit Installation
> End
> Else
> Break Loop
> End
> End

--
Lee White

RPM Report Viewer.: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/rpm/
RPM Review........: http://archive.clarionmag.com/cmag/v11/v11n06rpm.html
Report Faxing.....: http://www.cwaddons.com/products/afe/
---Enroll Today---: http://CWaddons.com

Creative Reporting: http://www.CreativeReporting.com

Product Release & Update Notices
http://twitter.com/DeveloperPLUS

Windows 8 brings us "The Oval, Bumper Car, Roller Coaster of Wait!"
And, now, Windows 10 brings us "The Inch Worm, Bumper Car of Wait!"

NewsArchive
12-30-2016, 02:54 AM
> As has been suggested before, do NOT use this method. Shutting down a
> running program from the outside is an invitation to problems. It's
> much better to see if the program is running and requesting the user
> to close it from within itself. You can do this in a loop until the
> program is no longer running.

Exactly!

Charles


--
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Charles Edmonds

cjeByteMeSpammers@lansrad.com (remove the "ByteMeSpammers" to email me)
www.clarionproseries.com - ImageEx, ProScan, ProImage, ProPath and other
Clarion developer tools!
www.seal-soft.com - The xProduct Clarion templates - xWordCOM, xToolTip,
xDataBackup Manager and more!
www.ezchangelog.com - "Free ChangeLog software to manage your projects!"
www.setupcast.com - "A revolutionary new publishing system for software
developers - enhanced for SetupBuilder users!"
www.ezround.com - "Round Corner HTML tables with matching Banners, Buttons
and Forms - Now with PNG support!
www.lansrad.com - "Intelligent Solutions for Universal Problems"
www.fotokiss.com - "World's Best Auction Photo Editor"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------