PDA

View Full Version : Feature Request: Script editor drop menu for includes



NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:32 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 5:03 AM]

Friedrich,

Here's a rainy day request. Would you consider an additional UI element to
ease moving among include scripts. In the project I'm working on now I'm up
to nine include, so I have a total of 10 tabs to deal with. It gets a bit
clumsy.

Looking at the SetupScript Editor control that drops a menu, having another
one like it seems like an ideal navigation gadget for includes.

--
Best regards,

Mark

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:32 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 9:28 AM]

Such a drop menu was part of an early beta <g>. But more than 80 beta
testers asked me to change the drop menu to tabs. It took six weeks to move
from the drop to tab feature.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:33 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 9:45 AM]

>Such a drop menu was part of an early beta <g>. But more than 80 beta
>testers asked me to change the drop menu to tabs.

I'm dumbfounded, or maybe I'm just dumb. Tabs are cute. Scrolling tabs to
move back and forth among includes is... Well, I would disagree with the 80
folks that were wrong about this.

>It took six weeks to move from the drop to tab feature.

And I certainly wouldn't ask you to repeat that experience.

--
Best regards,

Mark

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:33 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 8:33 PM]

Hi Friedrich,

>Such a drop menu was part of an early beta <g>. But more than 80 beta
>testers asked me to change the drop menu to tabs. It took six weeks to move
>from the drop to tab feature.

Lot easier to add drop down, just a few lines of code:)

I Long
S CString(4097)
Code
Free(TabQueue)
Loop I = FirstField() To LastField()
If I{Prop:Parent} = ?TabSheet
TabQueue.FEQ = I
TabQueue.TabText = I{Prop:Text}
Add(TabQueue)
End
End

S = ''
Loop I = 1 To Records(TabQueue)
S = S & TabQueue.TabText
End
TS = Popup(S)
Get(TabQueue,TS)
Select(?TabSheet,TabQueue.FEQ)

Or something like that;)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:34 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 9:20 PM]

Arnor,
How elegant!! Thanks :)

I played with it and had to make a couple of tweaks:
1. Fetching the right queue record and adding the separator to the popup
string:
S = ''
Loop I = 1 To Records(TabQueue)
get(tabqueue,I)
S = S &'|'& TabQueue.TabText
End

2. Selecting the FEQ directly:
TS = Popup(S)
Get(TabQueue,TS)
Select(TabQueue.FEQ)

NewsArchive
04-23-2005, 07:34 AM
[Friday, April 22, 2005 10:18 PM]

Hi Jane,

>1. Fetching the right queue record and adding the separator to the popup
>string:

Yep, forgot the darn pipe;)

>2. Selecting the FEQ directly:
> TS = Popup(S)
> Get(TabQueue,TS)
> Select(TabQueue.FEQ)

Originally I was thinking I'd use the TAB ordinal number, but then I
realized I needed the FEQ to get the text, but didn't remember to
change the SELECT. Using my method it should probably be:

Select(?TabSheet,Pointer(TabQueue))

But since the FEQ is there it is simpler to just select it like you
did:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA

NewsArchive
04-24-2005, 07:59 AM
Mark,

I have re-added an "include script" drop down to the Script Editor. What do
you think (see screenshot).

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

sb5_1115.gif

NewsArchive
04-25-2005, 03:50 AM
[Sunday, April 24, 2005 5:56 PM]

>Mark,
>
>I have re-added an "include script" drop down to the Script Editor. What do
>you think (see screenshot).

Friedrich,

I think you're my idol. :}

--
Best regards,

Mark

NewsArchive
04-25-2005, 03:50 AM
[Sunday, April 24, 2005 6:07 PM]

<g> :-)

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910