PDA

View Full Version : Help for newbe

Jorge Alejandro Lavera
05-04-2005, 06:01 AM
Hi.

I'm new to Setup Builder 5. I was using Setup Builder 4 for Clarion, but never used the script editor.
Now what I want to do is create an installer that detects what versions of Clarion is installed and register a template at the end. I found no help about, but I did found several nice examples that do parts of it.
Now, I figured that if I want to copy what's in those examples, I can launch SB5 twice, one loaded with the example and the other with my project, and "copy" script lines from one to the other. Only that this only worked once, for one line! Let's call them project #1 and #2.
1) Now, I select a line in the script editor in #1 and click right mouse, press "copy". Go to #2, click right mouse, the "paste" option is disabled. :confused:
2) In #2, I want to just add a blank line. How do I do that?
3) It seems that the only way to do what I want (i.e. detect Clarion version) is touching the script, is that right?
4) In the "help" menu, if I select "Reference manual", nothing happens. Is that right?
5) There is plenty of help on what the scripts are and how to use them, but didn't found any on how to use the script editor. Is there any, in that case where?
I'm a bit lost, any help would be appreciated.
Greetings,
Jorge Lavera

michael
05-04-2005, 06:35 AM
Jorge,

You cannot copy between different SB5 IDE instances. What you can do is to open the script, copy data, open the new script and paste the data.

BTW, see "Detect Clarion Versions Demo 1.sb5", "Detect Clarion Versions Demo 2.sb5" and "Clarion Template Registration Demo.sb5" scripts.

To add a script function, you can double click the function from the Script Items list or drag and drop it to the Script Editor.

HTH,

Jorge Alejandro Lavera
05-04-2005, 06:41 AM
Hi, Michael.
Open, select, copy, close, open, paste, close, open, select, copy, close, open, paste... :(