PDA

View Full Version : Web update



NewsArchive
06-14-2005, 07:02 AM
Hi Friedrich,

Just wanted to let you know that our first in-field webupdate went
without a single glitch so far and everything works very nicely:)

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com

NewsArchive
06-14-2005, 07:04 AM
Hi Arnór,

Thanks SO MUCH for the very good news :) !!!!!

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
06-14-2005, 09:14 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>Thanks SO MUCH for the very good news :) !!!!!

There is still one snag with the wupdate.exe and that is terminating
of the calling process or whatever when there is an update. I
realized that my plan would not work as I might have to terminate more
than one exe etc.

I _think_ it would be nice to have the wupdate.exe split into two:

wupdatechk.exe which would only check for updates and return
true/false or something to the calling process, i.e. use:

Run('wupdatechk.exe')
R = RunCode()
If R = False
Run('wupdate.exe')
Post(Event:CloseWindow)
Else
! No update available
End

I realize I would create the wupdatechk.exe using Nettalk or whatever,
even using SB5, but it would be cool if you could sit down and create
a script like the wupdate.exe that only did the checking and we could
compile and use to check for updates. I know you have nothing better
to do these days<g>

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com

NewsArchive
06-14-2005, 09:14 AM
Arnór,

:)

Do you think a new /C command line option could help? For example, call
wupdate.exe /C and the client will check if there is a new update available.
If a new update is available, return 1, else return 0.

Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
06-14-2005, 09:14 AM
Arnor,

What I am doing and it seems to work just fine is, when the selection is
made to "Check For Updates" by the user I post a message letting them know
the program is going to close. If they have any work in progress they have
the option to cancel, complete their work and try again.

Also, I am using CHAIN() instead of RUN(). I figured it best to get out of
the program completely and not have to worry about SB5 having to jump
through any more hoops than it has to.

When I call wupdate.exe from my application I send the PATH() along because
it seems to be lost. It doesn't know where it's at and I couldn't find a way
to tell it how to find it on its own. I needed this information in case
there were no updates and it needed to launch the application. I put an ELSE
in the IF %_SB_ERRORCODE%\%HOST%....... statement so that if there were no
updates it runs the application.

If there are updates, then the web installer that is downloaded and executed
launches the application when it is done. So far seems to work great and I
feel better knowing there is no chance of my app being compromised by being
open.

Just some thoughts from my prospective.

Lee

NewsArchive
06-15-2005, 09:09 AM
Hi Lee,

>made to "Check For Updates" by the user I post a message letting them know
>the program is going to close. If they have any work in progress they have
>the option to cancel, complete their work and try again.

I do that too, but in certain cases I have to force a check, i.e. when
a database update SQL is sent and has been processed, the program is
forced to check for an update.

>Also, I am using CHAIN() instead of RUN(). I figured it best to get out of

What I use is:

Run('wupdate.exe')
Halt(0)

That terminates the program right after the wupdate has been run.

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA
www.icetips.com

NewsArchive
06-15-2005, 09:09 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>Do you think a new /C command line option could help? For example, call
>wupdate.exe /C and the client will check if there is a new update available.
>If a new update is available, return 1, else return 0.

YES! Could you also add a /Q option so that it can be done in "quiet"
mode, i.e. no windows displayed by the wupdate when the /C option is
also, that is if there is anything displayed when you use the /C
option.

I.e.:

/C /Q would just check for the update and return 0/1

/C might show a window indicating that wupdate is about to check for
update.

Then you might also have a /F option that could be used to force
wupdate to go stright to download, i.e. after you have called wupdate
with /C and it tells you there is an update, then /F would skip the
check for update process since it's already done that.

Run('wupdate.exe /C /Q')
If RunCode() = 1
Message('There is a new update waiting to be downloaded.')
Run('wupdate.exe /F')
Halt() ! or whatever
End

Best regards,


Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA

NewsArchive
06-15-2005, 09:09 AM
Hi Arnór,

Added to the wupdate.sb5 script so that you can modify it to your needs.
Compiler directives make it possible to easily switch the enhancement
on/off.

Thanks,
Friedrich

--
Friedrich Linder
CEO, Lindersoft
www.lindersoft.com
1.954.252.3910

"point. click. ship" - that's SetupBuilder 5

NewsArchive
06-17-2005, 02:37 AM
Hi Friedrich,

>Added to the wupdate.sb5 script so that you can modify it to your needs.
>Compiler directives make it possible to easily switch the enhancement
>on/off.

Cool!

Best regards,

Arnór Baldvinsson
Icetips Software
San Antonio, Texas, USA